Erin Gowling's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • I work in commercials helping with production, as an actr...
  • Bachelor of Science (Animal Biology)
  • From Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME
I'm pretty new to couchsurfing, having only stayed with two hosts so far but enjoyed it so much and can't wait to get travelling and meeting new people again. I'm a Canadian that has been living in Mexico City for the last 6 years. I left Canada thinking I'd only stay in Mexico for a year but fell in love with the city and culture and all that Mexico City has to offer and love showing friends and family around. I love trying new things and in the last 6 years I have been a translator, an English tutor, worked in commercials as an actor, extra, production assistant, and in wardrobe. I love meeting new people. I think the more people one meets the more they get to know themselves. I love hearing about the real life in the cities I visit and staying with someone new has never disappointed!

I'm currently spending some time travelling. I flew to Vancouver in September to help some friends sail their catamaran down to San Francisco. Once we got there and anchored in Sausalito I realized it was going to be a lot easier to explore SF staying on land. After speaking to a friend who couch surfs I decided to try it and am so glad I did! I really believe my experience travelling in SF was so much better thanks to the amazing hosts I had via CouchSurfing. After a week in SF, I flew home to Ottawa, Ontario (my hometown) to celebrate Canadian Thanksgiving and my Grandmother's 100th birthday!

My next stops include Savannah Georgia, Charleston South Carolina and Miami and Orlando, Florida. I'll then be on my way back home to Mexico City. I plan to start hosting once I'm back so am looking forward to picking up any tips in that respect over the next few surfs!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Love meeting new people and learning about new places through the eyes of the locals. Sharing ideas and creating new adventures. I am looking forward to hosting when I get back to Mexico City in November and want to know what it's like to be hosted and get some tips and tricks.

Interests

Exploring new places, sight seeing, listening to live music, travelling, meeting new people, DIY home improvement, arts and crafts.

  • birds
  • writing
  • photography
  • wine
  • yoga
  • pilates
  • working out
  • thrifting
  • music
  • live music
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • beaches
  • travelling
  • nature
  • biking
  • exploring new places
  • beach volleyball
  • mezcal

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Depending on my mood, D&B, R&B, Dance, electronic, 80's, rap, reggae, hip hop.

Movies: True Romance by Tarantino, Donnie Darko, Field of Dreams

Books: The Diviners; Margaret Atwood, My Brother's Keeper; Marcia Davenport, ... so many more.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've bungee jumped off a crane dipping my head into the lake below on a dare.

Teach, Learn, Share

Would love to cook for you, share a glass of wine, or a beer.
Can help you perfect your English or help you work on a home project.
Would love to learn more about photography, surfing, singing and playing the guitar or piano.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can tell you about Mexico City and what it's like to live there, help you with a home improvement project, talk to you in Spanish and a bit of French, walk your dog, feed your cat, cook you a delicious vegetarian meal & make you laugh. If your first language isn't English I can help you perfect it, as I teach conversational English in Mexico City. Can share a glass of wine/beer or coffee, some great conversations and for sure some laughs!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Canada, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Mexico, Monaco, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups