Melissa Jane's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Russian
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Consultant
  • Psychology and IT degrees from University of Melbourne
  • From Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To take the long way round, get lost and dance every step of the way.

ABOUT ME

Aquarius and true to the quintessential characteristics. A walking contradiction, best illustrated by the friends I keep: A random, eclectic, hodge podge of humans, all completely different from each other - backgrounds, interests, professions - but similar in that they all posses unbelieavbly beautiful hearts and souls.

PHILOSOPHY

I think happiness is a mindset. I try to take every experience as a lesson whether it be good or bad. I'm happy when I'm learning so it's a win-win.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been hosted all over Europe and have met other Couchsurfers for a drink in various parts of the world. I've also have had the pleasure of showing some really great Couchsurfers around Bologna and Melbourne.

Interests

Music & festivals, finding hidden treasures in second hand stores (clothes, books, furniture), fashion, psychology, philosophy, eastern religion, spontaneous travel, camping, hiking, fine arts and applied arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, music, photography, dance, theatre, interior design etc), vegetarian cafes with large armchairs and chai tea, politics, speaking Italian and Russian, solitude, meeting new people, reading in parks, going out till sunrise, foreign and arthouse films, technology, my Burmese cat Frankie.

  • cats
  • arts
  • humanities
  • books
  • architecture
  • design
  • interior design
  • fashion
  • photography
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • beer
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • walking
  • drinking
  • clothing
  • politics
  • technology
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • business
  • teaching
  • psychology
  • religion
  • science
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: At the moment, I'm in love with psychedelic, experimental rock, folk, blues, jazz, most genres of rock and classical however I'm open to any musical art. Inspirations that help me through life include: Rodriquez, Bill Callahan, Boards of Canada, The Mars Volta, Cinematic Orchestra, At the Drive In, Buddy Guy, Moby, Vibrasphere, Tortoise, Yo Lo Tengo, Foals, Led Zeppelin, Battles, Dirty 3, Broken Social Scene, Pivot, Jimi Hendrix, Radiohead, Rage Against The Machine, The Doors, Tame Impala, Regina Spektor, Pink Floyd, Brant Bjork, Oasis, Comus, Yes, Talk Talk, Primus, Mum, Wilco, Sigur ros, Of Montreal, Elbow, Tool, Angus and Julia Stone, Jens Lekman, Talking Heads, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Bjork, Mogwai, The Black Keys, Bon Iver + many more. The list is always growing.....

Films: I love Italian and French cinema and arthouse or quirky films and I love directors with inventive visual styles.
Krzysztof Kieslowski - Trois couleurs: Bleu, Blanc, Rouge. Sean Penn - Into the Willd. Roberto Benigni - La vita e bella. Julie Delpy - 2 Days in Paris. Craig Gillespie - Lars and the Real Girl. Jean-Pierre Jeunet - Amelie & A Very Long Engagement. Woody Allen.

Books: Anything beautifully written or with an interesting theme that makes me think. I'm currently devouring the entire collections of Haruki Murakami and Stephen Fry.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Grown in ways I never thought possible because of the moments I have shared with other lone travellers. Some have breezed in and out of my life for a shared moment of no more than a coffee at a train station, some have joined me on great adventures through new lands. All have contributed in the most profound ways to my understanding of how I want to use this minute speck of time which is my life ....

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach - I've completed two degrees at university: A business/IT and a science/psychology degree so maybe I've learnt something in those 6 years you might be interested in.

I'm also an English teacher so I'm always happy to stage an impromptu English lesson in a cafe/bar.

Learn - I'm keen to learn about any subject, in any medium: speech, diagrams, charades.... whatever works for you.

I'm also learning Italian and Russian, so if you are patient, and don't mind me stammering my way through an attempt at an Italian conversation then I would definitely be keen for a coffee and a chat.

Share - I will always share a smile with you. :) And I'm always ready to share a good night out. If it includes bands and beers then even better!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups