Logo orange

Mariah Whelan

Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Japanese, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Drifter
  • Partly by University...mostly by life.
  • From Thame, Oxfordshire
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Kindness, Compassion, Awareness

ABOUT ME

All about me? Well I'm happiest when cooking a meal for a big group of people, drinking wine with friends around camp fires, practicing yoga barefoot in the park, looking at beautiful art, listening to and dancing to music...lots of things make me happy.
Kindness, Compassion, Wakefullness!
I can't abide xenophobia, hurtfullness or cold weather!

PHILOSOPHY

I try to live as peaceful a life as I can. The only thing I know...is how little I know of people; places; philosophies and how very much I want to know and understand them more.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I went to a few Couch Surfing events in England, hosted when I lived in Hiroshima, Japan. I'd like to try surfing now!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Ive stayed on allot of sofas in my time, I find that the big squishy sofas are the best :)

Interests

Listening to and dancing to music, reading anything I can, cooking and eating, drawing pictures, writing poems, taking photos, Poi, Climbing trees and getting to know you.

Music, Movies & Books

I love J G Ballard, Japanese literature and poetry (in translation), Aldous Huxley and so many more... I listen to Pearl Jam, Jeff Buckley, Mark Lanegan, Pink Floyd, ABBA, Neil Young, Tori Amos, Bjork, Aphex Twin, Squarepusher and Rusko among many. I love surreal, dark, beautiful and cerebal film: From David Lynch to Baz Lurman.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Running my hands through the black sand of a beach in Iceland.

Teach, Learn, Share

If your under the age of 18 I can probably teach you English with moderate success.

Countries I've Visited

France, Germany, Iceland, South Korea, Spain, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Japan, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile