Emjae DiFranco's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emjae’s full profile.

Overview

  • 173 references 60 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 35, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Emjae (pronounced "M-J"), I am a 33 year old queer non-binary person. I have spent over 10ish years traveling around the globe. I have enjoyed every part of my journey and have seen it as a chance to make the world a smaller place. I came back to the United States in June 2015, and have been adulting ever since.

When describing myself I never seem to list the qualities others see in me. I have been told I am very out-going, bohemian, social, friendly, direct, and accepting. I would consider myself spontaneous, funny (sometimes), I love music, food, travel, and volunteerism.

To me spontaneous is not going to a bar on a Monday night but instead randomly hopping on a plane to South America, Europe, or Asia. Making no plans just going.

I can speak Spanish fluently however I am not great at writing or reading in the language.

I like to live life off the beaten path and enjoy visiting places that are as well. I live by the belief that the best things to do or see are the ones you learn from strangers on the street. I want to be in the spot where no one has seen a foreigner, where no one speaks my language.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because I couldn't imagine my life without it.

95% of my friends I met through CS, and CS is all I talk about with the other 5%.

Interests

I like travel, hitchhiking, baking, people watching, reading, writing, cooking, photography, karaoke, meeting new people, driving aimlessly, the beach, camping, hiking, swimming, couchsurfing, coffee shops, and theater.

  • cooking
  • politics
  • karaoke
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • road trips
  • travel
  • food
  • queer
  • people watching
  • queer culture

Music, Movies, and Books

Ani Difranco

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Organized and Lead Civil Rights Protests.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you practice Spanish or English.

I've traveled a lot and on the cheap, and am always open to sharing my tips and tricks about life on the road.

I like to cook and love to share deep discussions over a delicious meal.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook and help you practice Spanish or English.

I can cook:

Pan-Asian Fusion
American
Japanese
Peruvian
Ecuadorian
Mexican
Italian
Vegetarian
Vegan
Balkan
Ethiopian
Indian
…..etc

But you honestly have no idea how awesome my garlic mashed potato are. Seriously you might die of shock at how something so simple can be so amazing.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Albania, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curaçao, Ecuador, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, India, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Kosovo, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Serbia, South Africa, South Sudan, Spain, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Macedonia, Mexico, Peru, Romania, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • 30 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Emjae’s full profile.

My Groups