Kevin Swinderman's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Finnish, French, German, Latin, Spanish, Swedish
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Poet; Neo-Luddite.
  • Extensive and varied. Formal; informal.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Arborism.

I love the forest: especially climbing and building treehouses/treetents.

ABOUT ME

I'm possibly the most fascinating person you could ever hope to meet. At the moment I'm living in Jackson Wyoming.

PHILOSOPHY
Max Stirner appeals to me. Christ and Tolstoy, too. My personal philosophy is a patchwork of sorts.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Any way I can. Surfing; Hosting.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hitched up and down the coast from Moro Bay to Eugene and back; then surfed one CS person's place in Salinas.

Interests

Good literature. Politics. Society and its many aspects.

  • coffee
  • politics

Music, Movies, and Books

I like a wide variety of movies, music and books.

Favorite movies: Heat, Fight Club, 12 Monkeys.

Music: JS Bach; Chopin; Vivaldi. Karen O, Maria Callas, and Sade are my favorite female vocalists; Chris Cornell, R.J. Dio, and David Coverdale are my favorite male ones.

Books: "A Confederacy of Dunces"; Dostoevsky.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I rode a ferry to Tallinn at midnight with my Shih Tzu, Abigail. We explored the medieval Tallinn castle area with a couple of gay Finnish art students who were running from Russian sailors they'd brawled with at a bar. Then we returned to the bar and Estonian hookers played with my dog while we had Long Islands. The sun came up and we took the ferry back to Helsinki. Amazing enough? If that isn't dazzling enough for ya, a couple years later I toured Belgium on their public transit; surveyed Waterloo, Bastogne, and Ostende; traversed the entire Belgian coast on a tram from Holland to France and back...slept on the beach in Ostende for a few days, then hitched to Paris, where I camped another few nights in Goussainville.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach self-defense. Cooking. Diesel mechanics. Forestry and mountaineering. Other stuff.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Great stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Colombia, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Norway, Peru, Poland, Scotland, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Peru

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups