Mohammad Moussa's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mohammad’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Arabic, English; learning French
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Human Resource Consulting
  • Business Administration & Human Resources Management
  • From Beirut, Beirut Governorate, Lebanon
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! My name is Mohammad, but I like to go by Moussa (my last name) - it's pronounced more consistently around the world I guess.

I'd like to to think that my company is refreshing.

I am Lebanese, born and raised in Beirut, Lebanon. When I was 15 years old, I went on a student exchange program to the United States for a year during high school and lived with an American family in their home.

I studied business administration and human resources management and graduated in 2015, and been working in management consulting since. People often don't get what I do for work on a daily basis... Well, join the club. Jokes aside though, I love my job although I see myself happier working in aviation, specifically in airline brand management (sexy right?).

I've been recently fortunate to become a permanent resident of Canada, I will be arriving in Calgary on Feb 29th 2020 and staying for a couple of months, then return for good when I secure a job.

P.S. extremely allergic to cats

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

So at first I joined because of FOMO, then I started posting my trips and while I didn't always stay with hosts, I almost always met up with some pretty awesome people, you know, the ones who get you to go back to the same destination over and over.

Couchsurfing as a platform connecting travelers and hosts reminds me a lot of my student exchange year in the United States. I've had one humble stay with an awesome host in Belgium and I look forward to my next.

At the moment, I'd like to meet people in the city I will soon call my permanent home, so don't be shy, drop me a message! let's hang out!

Interests

I am very interested in new cultures; things I like to experience when I travel are the city vibe, the food, the music and the people. I like to visit local designer boutiques where I can check out small leather and carrying goods or maybe some culturally inspired home decorations.

As a humble aviation fanatic, I like to photograph airplanes, read/watch industry-related articles and documentaries and collect model airplanes - a proud father of some 50 plane models actually (could just be part of why my parents are shipping me off to Canada).

I have a complicated relationship with nature... I love my tech and big cities but I also do very much appreciate a hike or camping trip (if well planned). I definitely want to experience the Canadian wilderness, show me the hidden gems beyond where everyone else goes (but take me to those places too of course).

I LOVE food. The foodie community disowns me though because I don't post countless pictures of my food on instagram.

Other hobbies include naps, video games, movies (at home or the movie theatre), card and board games, swimming and making things out of those model kits you buy and assemble with glue and paint.

  • photography
  • aviation
  • music
  • camping
  • skydiving
  • languages
  • travelling
  • videogames
  • biking

Music, Movies, and Books

Not sure if Wikipedia and select articles online count, otherwise I am not much of a reader, I prefer visuals (movies and documentaries). I love going to the movie theatre, my favorite genres include thrillers and crime comedies and pretty much anything that features Nicole Kidman. You'd need to really make me love you to make me watch a romance or drama.

Music - I download what my ears enjoy, doesn't even have to be in a language I understand. My library ranges across almost all genres and features music in Arabic, Turkish, English, French and Spanish.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This one time, my aunt and I went to Nepal for my birthday, she is just 14 years older than I am and we're pretty good friends. Long story short, I booked myself a paraglide in Pokhara just a few hours before my flight back to Kathmandu and you guessed it, the paraglide started pretty later than planned. One expedited, breathtakingly scenic paraglide later, I had the glider person (¯\_(ツ)_/¯) land us just by the airport, where my aunt was waiting for me with my suitcase to catch our flight.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach? Brace yourself, Arabic language courses are coming...

Learn? Hit me with the best you got!

Share? Meal and night city walk

What I Can Share with Hosts

- Travel stories and tips

- Lebanese food and beverage - We have some pretty interesting and maybe unique snacks, good wines, sweets (like baclava), spices... etc. I can also bring you a Lebanese cook book if you want!

- Anything you collect - As a collector myself, I like to add to people's collections of whatever. If you collect stamps, coasters, flags, you name it, I will bring you a Lebanese one

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Belgium, Canada, Egypt, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Jordan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Montenegro, Nepal, Netherlands, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mohammad’s full profile.