Mona Engelmann's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mona’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Recent Graduate
  • Bachelors in Environmental Sciences, Policy and Management
  • From OR, USA
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me


Make a positive difference in the way people view their relationship with the world and nature through the way I live and hopefully through my work. The next big step in my mission is to attain a career related to my goal, specifically one involved in Wildlife Research.


I was born and raised in the beautiful Willamette Valley in Oregon. My love for nature, exploring and adventure started there. I've traveled throughout the states and to several countries for work, school and research. I really love the challenge and wonderful new experiences that come through traveling and getting to know new people and different cultures.

I am laid back, love to cook, tell dirty jokes, enjoy a couple of good brews, and engage in interesting conversation. At times I can be a bit of an adrenaline junkie, if it's risky or scary I'm usually drawn to it; from sky diving and roller coasters to Wildland Fire Fighting and exploring jungles with dangerous critters, I'm all about it. Other times I enjoy just visiting with family and friends, relaxing and soaking up a beautiful sunset.

I think my friend put it best when we were talking about comfort zones and getting out of your box. She looked at me and said, "Mona, you don't have a box! You just get out and go."


Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Experience a new way of traveling, meet more folks, broaden my life experience.


Anything outdoors. Hiking, fishing, name it I'm always up for something new, especially if it involves being close to nature. I love new adventures, good times, BBQ, getting to know new people, spontaneous road trips and just overall exploring and learning new things.

  • wildlife
  • fish
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • bbq
  • drinking
  • flying
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving
  • boxing
  • languages
  • road trips

Music, Movies, and Books

Classic Country Junkie, I'm talking Waylon Jennings, Bobby Bare, Merle Haggard and the like.
Other genres I also enjoy include: classic rock, local rap and hip hop, and music from different countries and cultures I have yet to hear.

I love reading science fiction, how-to books, and anything on wildlife.

Shameless fan of the crocodile hunter, the Discovery Channel and National Geographic before they were overrun by reality TV.

As for movies I like a whole array to include, Out of Africa, The Goonies, Steel Magnolias, Disney Movies (especially the Jungle Book and Lion King), Blazin Saddles, Robin Hood Men in Tights, and adventure flicks.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I had to good fortune to assist in the live capture and collaring of a wild tiger in Thailand.

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn: I would love to learn any new recipes, how to dance (with some style for
once), and different languages.

Teach: I can teach you how to BBQ, do an oil change, identify certain tracks (deer,
bear, tiger, etc), how to fish, cast a fly rod, and random Nepali phrases.

Share: I'm always happy to share any cool food or drinks I have along with me,
stories of my experiences, and fishing gear.

Countries I’ve Visited

Japan, Nepal, New Zealand, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mona’s full profile. It’s free!