Marco Ferrarese's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 70% response rate
  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marco’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 178 References 112 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning Chinese, Malay, Portuguese
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • PhD Student/Author/Freelance writer
  • MA in English Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

1,000 words a day

ABOUT ME

I'm a metalpunk musician, freelance writer and author. I played guitar in a punk rock band for 10 years, toured Europe seven times, and the USA two times.
In my travels, I visited most of Europe, Asia, and 45 out of the 50 United States selling merch for bands or on tour with my own. I lived one year in China for work (teacher of Italian and English)and have no desire to go back to Italy. I spent 6 months traveling and working in Australia's east coast and Red Center, and I am currently based in Malaysia. In 2012, I overlanded from Singapore to Milano, mostly hitchhiking.
I play guitar in Penang's thrash-core unit WEOT SKAM and sometimes help organize shows at Soundmaker Studiocafe', the best music venue on the island.

PHILOSOPHY

travel, play music, live to the max, experience everything, love with deep heart, and back again from the start.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I offer one of the best couches in Georgetown when I am not busy with my multifaceted personal and artistic life, and wherever I travel I try to couchsurf to meet people and teach them something about enjoying their lives king size.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

All the floors and couches of Europe and America have been mine, from Seattle to Los Angeles, from Arizona to Texas, from Kansas to Chicago, from New York to Memphis, from Amsterdam to Milano and Rome, from Berlin to Madrid etc. playing in a band even before CS existed. I am a pioneer, ahahaha... I've been couchsurfing around East Asia and Australia and checking from my references you can see how seriously and positively I take the experience.

Interests

Punk/Hard Rock/Metal Music, especially from the 70s and 80s, b-movies in general with a particular taste for European Sexploitation horror and science fiction, Japanese monster movies, Italian horror and American 50s and 60s science fiction. Anthropology, ethnomusicology, popular music studies, cultural studies. In general, the BIZZARRO and the MONDO CANE.

I love to relax and talk about interesting stuff, I am pretty computer literate, I know bands all over the world and I like old grindhouse cinemas where I can pretend I'm not in this wacky world for a while.

  • horses
  • arts
  • writing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • punk music
  • guitar
  • metal music
  • anthropology
  • cultural studies
  • teaching
  • freelancing
  • languages
  • science
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

What decade ad what country? Too many to mention, mate.
But give me some "Secret Treaties"-era Blue Oyster Cult anyday and you'll put me in a good mood. I'm making a career of evil, yeah.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

crossing the USA in any angle and perspective riding a van.Same thing with Europe, yeeessssssssss...played more than 300 punk rock and metal shows in different countries, riding horses in Mongolia, lived in Malaysia with a Chinese family, lived for 3 months in Australia in a van, traveled overland from Ulan Bator to Bali, taught English to kids in the Cambodian jungle, met the orang utangs in the wilds of Northern Sumatra, studied Silambam martial art in Penang...as you can see, a pretty interesting life :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you languages, silambam stick martial art and how to play guitar and survive in a stinky van for a month.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Witty conversations, caustic humour, a lot of travel stories (including all genres, from exploitation to horror and giallo)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, Italy, Malaysia, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    17 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Marco’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups