Jamine Ackert's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jamine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German
  • 51, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Yoga teacher, trainer
  • McGill University, Kripalu Centre, Omega Institute
  • From Washington State (born), Toronto (grew up)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I like to introduce people to yoga, to the possibility of making things better for themselves. I love to help people who want to be helped!

ABOUT ME

I have travelled in the past and for the last few years I've settled down in Ottawa where I teach yoga and raise my daughter. I live in the Market, so I get to walk a lot but I also love my car and Ottawa has lots of lovely drives around so I've got the best of both worlds!

I have lived in communities in the past and enjoy meeting new people.

Our house doesn't stay up late much as most nights are school nights but we welcome people who do!

PHILOSOPHY

Not sure what to put here. I've lived in a yoga ashram in the past, so I've got a strong background in community and yoga. I'm not rigid about much and I like going to bed fairly early. I have a great relationship with my daughter and being a good mom is really important to me. I'm not very serious about much and I enjoy time to myself at least as much as I enjoy good company.

Check out the link to my website, which is really a link to my personal blog. I have been writing for years and a lot of my thoughts wind up in the blog.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I can now say I've been a host to an authentic Couch Surfer. I'm hoping to find a place in Paris this summer for my daughter and I to stay.

We will be hosting an actor for the Ottawa Fringe Festival June 14-26 and we will be away June 29-July 8 so our couch will not be available then. Come some other time! You can walk to so many places from our house :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have a friend, who's a musician, who said he had a great time using this service. In the past I've hosted performers at the Fringe Festival and it's been fun. I also would like to travel with my daughter in the future and this seemed like a good way to plan a trip.

Interests

yoga, building apps for iPhones

  • writing
  • acting
  • festivals
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jamine’s full profile. It’s free!