Jan Tempest's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Spanish; learning Indonesian, Italian
  • 53, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • festival masseur taking time out
  • mature student studying for degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to find a stunning location for my (planned) yurtery

ABOUT ME

Fairly outgoing,independent, moderately self-sufficient, I enjoy my own company but also like meeting others and having new experiences. Quite happy in the countryside but then dive into city culture for a few days.
Offbeat sense of humour, I enjoy exploring cities, hiking in the mountains, wild camping

PHILOSOPHY

Get into mischief, but stay out of real trouble!
You'll only regret what you didn't do.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment I am hoping to park Kevin my 8 metre long wagon in people's large gardens or field/farm for a few days. In return I am happy to do some massage or help out. I would also like to meet people for coffee/drink and learn more about the country/city/culture.
I have also hosted when at home and it's enjoyable to put something back
Can maybe offer a lift if anyone is travelling in the same direction.
When I have a base I will be able to offer a couch.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Was couchsurfing before it was even invented!
Slept on a mud floor besides a river on the Mexican/Guatamelan border whilst waiting for a boat, met many nice people whilst hitchhiking in South America and slept on their couches. Got stranded in a remote Chinese train station and stayed in the waiting room. Plus lots of other similar stuff. Pretty much all was positive, tho' the odd hairy moment.

Interests

Travel - obviously!!
Motorbiking, music, skiing, diving, walking, cooking, reading, gardening

  • culture
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • walking
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • boating
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • hitchhiking
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Crimis, health/psychic books, history,travel, magic realism. Generally have my nose stuck in a book
Lucky enough to have seen great musicians thro' my work - prefer rock, cajun, modern folk,celtic, latin
Top 3 last year were Grace Jones, ZZ Top and Steve Winwood

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Been very lucky to have had too many wonderful experiences to single any out.
Maybe climbing and wildcamping in the Rocky mountains in Canada or full moon bathing in hot pools in the Himalayas

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn - language, practical skills, culture, mechanicking
Teach - English, masssage, horseriding

Share - experiences, time, a meal, stories

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bangladesh, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Kuwait, Pakistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Brunei Darussalam, Germany, Thailand, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!