Matthew Pennock's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Ancient Greek, Arabic, Chinese, German, Spanish, Swahili
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Mechanic
  • B.A. International Studies
  • From Portland, OR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

A friendly, laid back, and active individual. I am passionate about the outdoors, rock climbing, reading, and writing. I drink a lot of coffee. I like to read a lot of books in history.

I am a mechanic with experience on all types of vehicles and currently building and restoring classic Land Cruisers. I have also professionally guided and taught rock climbing for a number of years. I like being around people and socializing. My favorite kind of dog is the Alaskan Malamute. I find learning about and engaging with people from different parts of the world to be one of the most rewarding things in life. That, and a good microbrew!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because you can't get the real cultural experience otherwise! Why be a tourist when you can be a couchsurfer? I have done a lot of traveling and have so far been to over 40 countries and lived in places like Africa, Europe, Middle East, and the South Pacific.

I believe it is far better to give than receive! Whatever skills and learning I want to be able to share with others. As well, I love learning from others and the diversity of the worlds cultures, languages, and beliefs.
I have met many people through couchsurfing and it is great. I have also hosted a couple couchsurfers and it was so much fun I can't wait to do it again!

Interests

I am primarily interested in outdoor sports, climbing, and helping people. I have worked with a lot of charities and non-profits around the world.
I also enjoy reading (bookworm), parleying with friends, theology, coffee, or a good Portland micro-brew.

  • dogs
  • arts
  • writing
  • books
  • dining
  • coffee
  • fitness
  • yoga
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • backpacking
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • divinity
  • languages
  • adventure travel

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2004 I hitchhiked across China with a small backpack and no Chinese language skills. It was probably the most amazing 3-week adventure travel ever!

Teach, Learn, Share

Living is learning, never stop learning, never give up...and keep hope, redemption draws near...

What I Can Share with Hosts

I provide rock climbing instruction to anyone who wants it. I could help with English as well. If your car is broke, I can fix it (if the tools are there!)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Israel, Kenya, Laos, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, New Zealand, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!