Logo orange

Matt Perse

Vernon Rockville, CT, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Graduate student (MA, Latin American...
  • College degree, currently 1 yr into ...
  • From Cleveland, Ohio, USA
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get lost

ABOUT ME

I love meeting new people and trying new things -- be it food, music, language, sports, culture. I love riding my bike, and I relish every opportunity I get to practice (and eventually perfect) my Spanish. Very into thinking about the story of "us" (humankind), and how we tell it, how it impacts how we understand ourselves and our places in the world.

PHILOSOPHY

Be open to new things and never lose sight of yourself amongst people. Be patient and be tolerant. Listen, observe, learn.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I took advantage of couchsurfing while I traveled South America (Argentina, Chile, Perú, Uruguay). Often I was unable to stay with people, but nevertheless got to meet many others for dinners, coffee, hiking, etc... through couchsurfing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have surfed and met up with people, but never hosted (would be open to doing so, should anyone like to visit Connecticut).

Interests

I generally enjoy spending time with or around people, talking and learning new things. I cycle and practice yoga and read quite a bit.

Music, Movies & Books

Catch-22, Las venas abiertas de América Latina; blues, jazz, "jam bands," and rock and roll; The Big Lebowski, The Godfather, and Argentine and Spanish-speaking movies (Bolivia; El Bonaerense; Pizza, Birra, Faso; Los diarios de motocicleta).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hiked through the Patagonian wilderness in Chile and Argentina during which time I hiked a ridgeline and heard (and saw) a pair of condors flying by.

Teach, Learn, Share

I consider myself fluent in Spanish, philosophical musings, culture (music, especially), and bikes.

I want to learn everything I can.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Spain

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile