Logo orange

Mārtiņš's Groups

Mārtiņš Strīķis

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mārtiņš's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Latvian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Mental Health (Psychiatric) Nurse
  • Ba Nursing. Post Grad Diploma Mental...
  • From Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

PREVIOUS MISSION
Continously learning and working towards employment in rural and remote areas of Australia. Experience various mental health workplaces.

CURRENT MISSION

I met this amazing girl Sarah and she is totally keen to travel the world instead of buying a house and I am totally liking the sound of that, so we are off to explore, work, travel, meet and live life to the fullest whilst finding solitude along the way and taking alternative transport. Please check out my updated reason for being on couchsurfing.

ABOUT ME

More info for those that I host and meet !

In brief though.,

Grew up first five years moving around various towns in Australia and Papau New Guinea, but the last 20years have been spent in Adelaide.
The last 8 years I have got in touch with my Latvian Heritage.
The last 5 years I have been studying and working in nursing with an interest for rural and remote health and mental health.

I'm a go go go person, even if that's to keep busy or to have time to myself relaxing or exploring. I like to explore local and distant areas, find the unused tracks and try not to get bogged in the sand!. I like to 'potter' around in my garden.... or going through letters and cards from friends. I like to send people birthday cards in the post - you have to keep the postal system alive at whatever the cost! .

PHILOSOPHY

Still searching....
Apparently my love language is Generosity - but whatever !. I like to have a good time, provide fun times whether that be in cooking or the experiences we share, without expecting anything in return.
Due to moving around a lot when I was younger, I cherish the brief moments you spend with people in hope that when you bump into them later in life, you begin where you left off....

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Well i was offering up my place to stay in the past and offered travel assistance when i drive long distances (that's around 600kms). I hosted someone for a music concert and took them to a friends BBQ prior. I have met up with others in my city for events. .

Travelling around Europe for the next 12 mnths will bring many new experiences I hope!. Living without a schedule will be exciting and i hope to learn about other's priorities, values, interests etc.

PLEASE READ : We are now 3 months into our trip and had a mix of hostels and CS experiences. Hostels are sometimes convenient for those one night stays, but our European adventure is not about city hopping. We are keen to learn about cities, current culture, beliefs, systems etc. This can be lost in the Hostel culture at times. So we are keen to Stay with CSers to get the 'home feel' , staying on suburban streets, seeing children play, getting a feel of what its like to be in those cities. Please host us!.

Hosted By:
Julian Kaspatria - Königsee
Roman Schatzle - Heidelberg
Katarina and Michal - Bratislava

BiH :
Montenegro :
Bulgaria :
Kosovo :
Macedonia :

Met CS Travellers:
Anna Burz (Poland) - Vilnius

Interests

Latvian Folk Dancing - currently on hold, but I I did it for four years.
Latvian singing - Did it for 4 years, been on hold for the past 4 years and now about to return to it. I am 2nd bass and have no prior music knowledge, so I learn as I go..
Mountain bike riding - however I still need to build up confidence to do anything that seems mad. I love to mountain bike ride, i get adrenaline rushes whilst riding in traffic...thank goodness I haven't been knocked off yet!.
I've started playing golf. I'd like to start fishing again. I recently went snorkelling - still yet to learn to duck dive Playing social sports - last couple of years as been Australian Football, Soccer, Netball - . I love to try new restaurants, new cafes or the local pub ... whilst having a Barbecue (BBQ) with friends. Visiting wine regions, checking out forests, lakes and beaches. .

Music, Movies & Books

I dont get a chance to watch movies all that often. Most recent was MockingJay Hunger games, but I found out there was #2 I haven't seen ... I wondered why it seemed as though a story was missing in between.

Music is so diverse i don't know where to begin. I enjoy alternative, indie, dance, hip hop, reggae, classical, heavy, metal, ....

Books are mostly non-fictional biographies. Not best sellers, just personal stories about fleeing various wars.
Recently read,
- The man that couldn't stop

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Summer Soltice in Latvia - The culture, the activity, the all night light and the crazy antics associated with it.
Drifting on an ice lake was also in Latvia but in the middle of Winter!.

2006 - Niagra Falls / Mt Saint Helen / Yosemite / Grand Canyon
2008 - Latvian Song Festival Dziesmu Svetki , singing with 30,000 others!.
2014 - Morocco trip : Sleeping in the Sahara.
2015
Germany: scaling a waterfall for breakfast view. Searching for ice caves.
Latvia: summer bobsled track. Rafting Irbe river. Gypsy beach sauna
Poland: hiked Tatras Mountains
Slovakia: Krasnohorska caves. 34m high sinter.
Croatia : Plitvice Jezera (1st Hitchhiking experience)

Teach, Learn, Share

Well I am a nurse that has been working in a small country hospital and now developing my knowledge in working with those with mental health concerns. Though I am new to couch surfing experiences, I still have my own Australian culture, mixed with new identity of Latvian culture to share, whilst my work and travel has taught me lots also. . I have volunteered in Malaysia at a school for disabled children and i would love to refer others to the place i went to. I come from Latvian culture and we do things differently. We are open hearted, accepting and have great cultural days, remembrances and crazy adventure -

What I Can Share With Hosts

We enjoy cooking. We enjoy talking about anything really. We like opportunities to learn about culture, travel, who you work for, what you enjoy, how you get the most out of life. We would love to play some board games, would love to take your dog for a run, would love to go for a bike ride, would love to sit , relax, take in the sights.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Canada, Croatia, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Singapore, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Papua New Guinea

Join Couchsurfing to see Mārtiņš's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile