Matthew Anscher

Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • I am an artist who works in many media: a photographer, c...
  • Certificate of Photography, Photographer's Education and ...
  • From Chapel Hill, NC (soon to be Monterey, CA)
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me


My current mission is to avenge the death of my goldfish. And to build a life for myself on the West Coast


I have always loved to travel and see the world, and I am moving away from home for the first time to live in Monterey, CA for a year. After that, I don't know where I will be. I live for new, exciting experiences in strange places, and I intend to make my mark on the world by beautifying it with art. I am a professional photographer, and I have also worked in films on both sides of the camera, acted in theater, recorded my friend's songs, and done what I can to survive. Now survival isn't enough. My goal is to thrive.


People got to be free. To me, freedom is not so much a lack of responsibility. Far from it, in fact. It's freedom from interference from people who don't have your best interest at heart.


My interests are movies, music, writing, photography, computers (I'm a Mac), cooking, running (I have run two marathons and five half marathons with a sixth planned for November).

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm an old school guy when it comes to culture; I credit this to my parents who raised me on oldies and showtunes. I once described myself to friends as "the hippest square you'll ever meet." My iPod is 2% 1940s, 10% 1950s, 33% 1960s, 26% 1970s, 10% 1980s, 3% 1990s. I'm crazy about old movies (mainly before the 1990s, and especially 1930s-1960s; my favorite genres are comedies, dramas, musicals, and animated films) and TV shows (mainly pre-1990s, but there are a few really good ones since then). I probably know the in-depth details of mass media no one else under 30 has even heard of. The word "eclectic" doesn't begin to describe me.

Teach, Learn, Share

Nothing mentioned in the song "My Favorite Things" is one of my favorite things, except for wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings. They're tasty.

The first part of growing up is realizing that food is not an article of clothing.

Don't put beans in your ears. Put quinoa in them instead.

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups