Logo orange

MU-IN

Rome, Lazio, Italy

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MU-IN's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 323 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning French, German, Spanish, Xhosa
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Nomadic Software Consultant
  • either too much or none at all
  • From Rome
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Stop wasting my time replying to soul-less couch request. Please contact me via message in case you feel like I should rather host you.

ABOUT ME

Lots of curly hairs, 1 smile, a couple of arms connected in some way to the rest of the body.
I am used to have high level thoughts/dreams, but just because I travel a lot using airplanes ;-)

**** UPDATE 2014 (January) ****
got a place in Rome (yesssss!)

**** UPDATE 2013 (January) ****
I am living & working in Milan now.

**** UPDATE 2012 (October) ****
I am living & working in London Bloomsbury now.

**** UPDATE 2012 (September) ****
I am living & working in Hannover now.

**** UPDATE 2012 (August) ****
I am living & working in Dublin now.

**** UPDATE 2012 ****
I am living, & hopefully hosting, in Leeds now.

**** UPDATE 2010 ****
The curls in my hair are gone, I had this new year resolution about changing gender each year, but then I only shortened my hairs as not every part of my body shows this capacity of fast regrowing ;)

Please don't bring objects as gifts, your smile and willing to share your time is all you need to be welcome.
(well chocolate helps too ;) )

Please consider that I am happily having a strict vegan diet, you can cook and use whatever food you prefer BUT cannot leave any non-vegan food behind or in my fridge. Thanks for your comprehension.
(a hint: dark chocolate is vegan 100% ;)

PS:
dunno why but the site states I am born on the 13th of December: that's not correct at all. Since all my tries to fix it using the update tool were not effective, I am writing this here. So, whatever reason u may have to know about my birthday (gifts, cooking or just simply an 'happy birthday' message) just ask and you'll know the exact date. :-)

PHILOSOPHY

Trying to follow few but good practices:
- to live and let others live, disturbing as little as I can
- to never do others what I do not like to receive
- Umuntu ngumuntu ngabantu
- ..and using words from someone better than me with them:
NO TE SALVES

No te quedes inmóvil al borde del camino
no congeles el júbilo
no quieras con desgana
no te salves ahora
ni nunca.
.
No te salves
no te llenes de calma
no reserves del mundo
sólo un rincón tranquilo
no dejes caer lo párpados
pesados como juicios
no te quedes sin labios
no te duermas sin sueño
no te pienses sin sangre
no te juzgues sin tiempo.
.
Pero si
pese a todo
no puedes evitarlo
y congelas el jubilo
y quieres con desgana
y te salvas ahora
y te llenas de calma
y reservas del mundo
sólo un rincón tranquilo
y dejas caer los párpados
pesados como juicios
y te secas sin labios
y te duermes sin sueño
y te piensas sin sangre
y te juzgas sin tiempo
y te quedas inmóvil
al borde del camino
y te salvas
entonces
no te quedes conmigo

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I joined the community I learned about the spirit of the site contacting CS people and groups where my work asks me to go, always trying to climb as much as possible with locals.

This is not changed a lot since then, currently (April 2012) I am spending most of my time in Leeds (UK) even if I spend some weeks in London or Rome every month.

I started hosting CS people after moving to a semi-central flat in Rome on October 2009, now I hope to be able to host people in my central flat in Leeds. Sometimes, during the good season I host CS people in my place at the seaside, south of Rome.

Luckily enough sometimes I receive an interesting and personal couch request, but it is true that most of the time I spend on the CS site is about to answer with a 'copy and paste' text to 'copy and paste' requests.

I recently (May 2010) organized a CS meeting to climb in a beach near Sperlonga, it was so fun!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I seldom hug or kiss people when they enter my place, never happened to not hug or kiss them when they leave.
and it happens often that I say bye bye to people like 3 or 4 times ;-)
Currently waiting for my first CS request in Leeds, after hosting hundreds of CS people in Rome and Sperlonga.
Once I managed to host even in my hotel room has a wonderful coach or even a free bed, maybe I should create a migrating SOS couch group :)

Before joining CS I used to host friends from Europe and Africa in Rome.

Interests

in no specific order:
sport, people, culture, zen buddism (Rinzai tradition), yoga, life, colors

Music, Movies & Books

My book collection is spread over a couple of continents, not interested in having them back, let the books have their own good time visiting people.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I keep several moments for me: a laugh, a breath, a sound... a whole life!
Well, trying to be more specific, guess running out of air at -28 mts deep in the ocean and still be able to tell it to people sounds amazing, isn't it?
Or when teaching an old uncle how to relax using vipassana yoga I discovered that all the other patients in the hospital room were following it and enjoying to the point that they switched off the TV :^O.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach:
@ Leeds: how to transform common Italian recipes to tasty vegan meals, how to make a correct Espresso step one: go to Rome ;)))
@Rome:
how locals drink water from public fountains in Rome is totally different from the way used by visitors (and dogs).
How to make happy popcorn.
Sometimes acting as a professional teacher in IT, free-climbing (used to be pro), Yoga, Tai-chi, making/serving real italian espresso.

Learn: I'd like to learn to surf the waves, but it's too difficult in the Mediterranean sea: no waves! :-(

Share: recipes or... well just ask, we'll see.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Tips for climbing or ashtanga yoga session, a living example of how to be successful in refusing to live by stereotypes, some yummy vegan recipes, and so on.

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Belgium, Croatia, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Latvia, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

England, Italy, South Africa, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see MU-IN's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile