Logo orange

Elise's Groups

Elise Bright

Austin, Texas, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elise's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 63, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • college professor and occasional fid...
  • PhD, followed by continuing ed in Sc...
  • From southwestern US
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm trying life without possessions! I am sick of hotels and love meeting people!

ABOUT ME

After over 30 years as a standard American suburban person I became an empty nester, sold or stored all my things and began housesitting. So far it's been great, and I don't miss my stuff at all! I love to travel and meet people and I've stayed in so many hotels for work that I hope to never do that again.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe in treating others as I would like to be treated, doing good works, and trying to spread kindness whenever the chance arises. I'm a big fan of the Sermon on the Mount and a friend of Bill W., and find all spiritual and religious beliefs interesting and worthy of respect. Work is good but life is short and is meant to be enjoyed! Cut down on your stuff and get free!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm a college prof, so have summers off. When housesitting I can usually host, but now I am in summer travel mode so looking to surf.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I think there are two kinds of people, those who love people and open their hearts and homes to others, and those who are cautious and would never dream of couchsurfing. I definitely am the former type! Before joining, I often stayed with friends and opened my home to them. For years I hosted troubled teens in my home for weeks or months at a time, helping them get back on track. That could be tough but I loved it!

Interests

I love to travel! I've been to about 30 countries on 4 continents, and this summer will complete visits to all 50 U.S. states. Also I love music of all kinds (and I do try to play fiddle, viola, piano), fossils, birds, swimming, cycling, hiking, reading, writing, and my three grown kids and new grandson. :)

Music, Movies & Books

classical, Celtic, bluegrass, folk, jazz, world music, old rock and roll, Christian rock, some country, all literature, films without a lot of violence but with an interesting story

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Bringing a new person into this world was absolutely awesome. Doing 8 laps on the NASCAR track was almost as scary as driving the Dallas freeways :). Getting held hostage for money by the Ukranian police, watching the sunrise over the Grand Canyon, being a tourist attraction for the Chinese (my blonde hair?), getting a hug from a teen who got her life back, finding a perfect fossil sea urchin, watching a butterfly emerge--the world is full of amazing miracles!

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach reading music, playing violin and piano, some Spanish, and a lot of experience recovering from life's disasters :)

Join Couchsurfing to see Elise's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile