Logo orange

Douglas French

Suttons Bay, MI, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Douglas's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • student, writer, cook, what ever
  • currently in first year of community...
  • From Grand Rapids, MI U.S.A
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

is to keep traveling, learning, and blogging!

ABOUT ME

I am currently on a two month trip thru Central America on my motorcycle. I started a blogging site about the trip and I'm working on my writing, traveling, and blogging skills. I was born in Michigan in the U.S. Spent time traveling when I left high school. Lived in Alaska for Ten years and have done many different types of jobs. Currently working on my associates degree at NMC in Traverse City, MI I am single and don't have alot of ties at present. In fact the next couple of years will probably be devoted to school as well as new adventures to write about. Planning on a motorcycle trip to Alaska in May if I can swing it.

PHILOSOPHY

As someone once put,"we are all one". Most of us just don't know it yet. The differences for the most part are simply different aspects of our personalities that manifest themselves in different ways. Often unfortunatley coming into conflict with other each other in not so balanced ways. I think we are all on an individual journey of reconnecting to our true selves, an inherent wisdom that lies in all of us. How we treat each other is more important then what we believe in. For we all have different believes. Thru travel and relations with others we can learn about ourselves and thus hopefully travel the lower path in a liberating way.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am just starting my membership here and I'm in the middle of a two month trip. That being said though I would love to offer someone my couch when return home and help them discover northern michigan. This is an exciting site, and I do hope to participate more perhaps volunteering. I think more understand who is living across the border (or street) from us, the safer the world will be. This appears to be a great project to foster good will, and understanding between all people of this world by promoting safe travel and good contacts.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

This is it, I've only been here for an hour on the site. But I have stay'd in youth hostels before and found great commraderie with other travelers. I am currently doing a home stay and taking spanish language classes here in Costa Rica. There is a lady from Britain, and a guy from Taiwan living with me. I often thought about opening a youth hostel myself, just for the experiance helping and being around travelers from all over the world.

Interests

My adventure logs, my website will be involved with alot of my personal interests like kayaking, motorcycling and hiking. I play guitar and am interested in all local music scenes. I am also interested martial arts, yoga, meditation, cooking absolutely, and healthy living and spirituality. Obviously I love to travel, thats why I'm out here to begin with.

Music, Movies & Books

All types of music, especially the local music scenes. Not so big on commercial music thats created just to make a buck. Love spiritual books with good stories that are engaging like the Peaceful Warrior, Lord of the Rings, fantasy to get lost in, but that also inspires... Movies I look for the same, I do like good whatever, as long as its done well.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hitchhiked from Alaska to Michigan in the dead of winter for the holidays. 9 days to go 4500 miles. Worked on a fishing boat in Alaska when I was 18 years old and survived. Spent a year living in the woods, street, wherever out of my backpack in ways embracing the hobo thats in all of us, learning about myself as well as others from totally different perspective most of us never have to do.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love the philosophy stated here. See what we can give each other. I enjoy cooking, music and philosophy. would be willing to do a work exchange to help out with being able to stay somewhere. Whether cooking, doing dishes, putting a new roof on, whatever. I agree lets share our knowledge and our passions to live life well, whatever we do in it.

Join Couchsurfing to see Douglas's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile