Natalie Cheung's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Natalie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning Japanese
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Architecture Student
  • National University of Singapore
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

A small asian girl in need of an experience of a lifetime. Upsize available, comes with fries.

And also a 21 year old student, stuck in Singapore and in need of saving. Finally saved up enough to travel and all I wish is to experience the strangest and most magical of things for a story to tell. Waiting for my walter-mitty moment.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Well I like to believe there is some faith in humanity and people out there who are willing to show me their side of the world and how they live it. Beats waking up to a neutrally designed hotel room and horrible orange juice.

Interests

I enjoy Photography and Videography. Haven't gotten to buying myself a camcorder but I have always wanted one, I believe that moments should always be captured. I bought myself an old Olympus OMG film camera 4 years ago and i'm surprised it hasn't given way yet, I hope to bring it to the places I travel to. Other than that, when i'm not lazy, I bring around my Nikon and when i'm lazy, I use my iPhone and filter the crap out of every photo I take.

I do enjoy singing and I secretly hope to be Ingrid Michaelson for many reasons, i'm learning (trying) to play the guitar. I performed in a Design Festival with a friend and it was an amazing experience.

and of course, travelling, there's something extremely refreshing being some place new. I love learning about everything from cultures to accents to quirks, I welcome learning about anything new with open arms. I enjoy the beach and being completely immersed in nature, been to Malaysia, Penang at least 20 times and I think I should try new environments. I am completely amazed by the four seasons. In Singapore, we only get summer you see. I have never seen snow and I hope to soon.

I also enjoy d.i.y and making things with my hands, I think there's something extremely amazing and beautiful about handicraft and workmanship, how we can create something so intricate from simple everyday tools. Hence, my love for architect, Carlo Scarpa and his attention to fine details.

  • singing
  • architecture
  • design
  • photography
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • guitar
  • hunting
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

In love with Lucy Rose, Ingrid Michaelson, Local Natives, Angus and Julia Stone, Coldplay, Snow Patrol, Cinematic Orchestra and maybe a electronic here and there; Lights, Phoenix, Passion Pit. Also, shower sing/rap to some intense R&B, but it's sad because i know i can never be kanye west.

I enjoy thrillers, I hate (HATE) horror stories.

Architects I look up to would be Alvaro Siza, Carlo Scarpa and Tadao Ando. Other than architecture, I enjoy very much observing the quirks of every person's home, from the type of wallpaper to the kind of cup they use.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbed to a bottom of a cliff while it rained, tide washed in, scaled up the cliff while the water reached our knees and almost died. All in beautiful Australia.

Rode a horse(by myself) across the plains of Penang, Malaysia. Scariest thing ever but I felt most like a powerful swordsman.

If this is counted, I sang at a local design festival in front of a huge crowd and that was amazing, considering how i'm only bathroom singer material.

Laid in a cemetery star-gazing and managed to see shooting stars while up in some mountains in Thailand.

Snorkled in Langkawa, 2 inches above the sharpest corals. Also swam next to jellyfish and thankfully, did not die.

Aided an Australian woman in the birth of a lamb.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to learn how to cook and maybe knit and maybe farm.

And one thing i've learnt from time to time is that, never regret anything because at one point in time, it was something you really wanted.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can make you a mean chawanmushi (Japanese egg).

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see Natalie’s full profile. It’s free!