Natalie Hinahara's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Natalie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Artist, farmer
  • UW-Madison
  • From Madison, WI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I just graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, with degrees in Art and Environmental Studies. I spend my time farming (mainly vegetables), working at a breakfast restaurant/cafe, and making art (painting and printmaking mainly).

My partner, Matt, and I are taking a long trip through the Netherlands, France, Spain, and Germany this winter (January-March 2017) and are looking for places to stay in cities in between weeks when we are visiting other friends and farms in more rural locations.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think the most exciting, interesting, and rewarding way to travel is to stay with people who live there. I lived in a housing co-op throughout college, which means that I lived with 30+ people at a time, and probably a hundred different people over the 3 years that I lived there. So I am very comfortable with sharing my home/space with others. I love to get to know people, especially those that have had different life experiences than me.

Interests

  • arts
  • salsa dancing
  • bachata
  • painting
  • music
  • printmaking
  • farming
  • organic farming
  • urban farming

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Bluegrass, folk, salsa, bachata. Specifically, Gillian Welch, Dave Rawlings, Townes Van Zandt, Grateful Dead, Neil Young, Valerie June, Buena Vista Social Club, Juan Luis Guerra, TIMBALIVE, Celia Cruz...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This summer I started a small-scale, sustainable farm with my friends! We grow all sorts of vegetables and have a small herd of dairy goats and 60 laying hens.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to garden, cook, preserve food (canning, fermenting) and would be happy to help around the house with any of those sort of projects.

I also love to play guitar and sing and always enjoy playing with and learning from others. I love to social dance (mainly salsa, cuban son, and bachata) and would love to learn more dances from other places in the world.

I would love to practice my Spanish and I'm happy to help teach English to those who want to learn.

What I Can Share with Hosts

- Music
- Cooking
- Open-minded conversation
- Caretaking for children and babies - I would love to stay with people/families of all ages

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Costa Rica, Ecuador, England, France, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Natalie’s full profile. It’s free!