Nate Roter's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nate’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 65 References 34 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Social Worker
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Making a brisket that will hold its own in Texas.

ABOUT ME

I was born in Oakland California. I grew up next door in Berkeley California. I like to eat tasty food, learn languages, and bowling. I like working with kids, BBQ and playing basketball. I'm working on my Eurostep. I just finished a master's program in social work and will be in south Texas for the foreseeable future.

PHILOSOPHY

My personal philosophy is stay true. We can't create a world based on truth until we are true to ourselves. Be original!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

hosting surfing sometimes using groups and messageboards

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

lots of hosting, surfing, and kicking it for bigs.

Interests

I like riding bicycles great distances, kicking balls around, bowling, reading, keeping it more or less true, epic things, running around on big hills (could also be called mountains), shooting hoops, and eating. Silence. La Quintine Blonde. All things epic.

  • dogs
  • dining
  • bbq
  • running
  • reading
  • puzzles
  • cycling
  • hunting
  • surfing
  • basketball
  • bowling
  • languages
  • social work
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I like lots of music and love going to shows.
Books I like include Sagas of the Icelanders, Calvin and Hobbes, Crime & Punishment, books about Middle Earth, Freedom or Death.
I like Apocalypse Now, This is Spinal Tap, Star Wars (Episodes 4, 5, 6), I'm Gonna Git You Sucka, Top Secret, Rambo First Blood Part II, The Godfather Part 1, Tigersteak, Keep it Rolling America.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saw a dog catch and eat a goose on a river. Orion's belt is pretty fresh too.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you to throw a hook on the lanes, or to make huevos rancheros. Bike maintenance and handling skills. I'm also pretty good at crossword puzzles.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to cook meals for my hosts but also love to go out and taste local stuff, especially BBQ and I hope you can join!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    15 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Nate’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups