Neal O'Grady

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Neal’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Web Developer and Copywriter
  • Mechanical Engineering at the University of British Columbia
  • From Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Experience things, good and bad.


My personal website is a good source of information about me:

I'm a west coast Canadian (Vancouver) with an Irish passport. From Oct 2014 - Apr 2015 I traveled throughout 13 countries in Asia, and ever since I've been bouncing around Europe. I adore learning languages and pretty much anything else. I've self-learned french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian, some dutch, some mandarin, web development, and various other skills. I highly enjoy underground electronic music.

But mostly I love food. All kinds, in any shape, variety, or background. I love it all.

I'm alternating between periods of purely traveling, and periods of working as a freelancer while traveling. I work as a freelance web developer and copywriter, and I'm working on my own book.


To learn, and do as many new things as possible. To meet others and be inspired by their difference perspectives and experiences. I have a personal philosophy to only do things I enjoy (unless I've never tried it before) and to discover what all those things are. I did a university degree I hated and I refuse to ever do that again. I'm also easy-going and you will never get me into an argument. I just don't do it. I've never really had a fight or feud with a friend.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've surfed, and I've hosted. In Montreal I used to go to local hangouts all the time, and now that I'm bouncing around the world, I'm participating a lot more, almost on a daily basis.


I've surfed many many times by now across a few continents, and they were almost without exception fantastic experiences. I've only been able to host a few times since I've had less-than-welcome roommates, but each time I did they were great people I'd gladly see again. Besides that I always love a great couchsurfing meetup.


Food, writing, languages, reading, fitness, health, programming, psychology, sociology, philosophy, instruments. Anything and everything. If you talk about anything that isn't super banal and mundane, you'll have me hooked and we'll talk for hours.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Primarily underground techno, tech house, deep house, break beats, drum and bass, and tropical house. Electronic essentially. But I also enjoy all kinds of music. I used to be a huge fan of Tupac and other 90's rappers. Also folk and alternative rock.

Movies... Waking Life and Boyhood. But generally more of a TV series person. Flight of the Conchords, Mighty Boosh, Sci-Fis like Battlestar Galactica, Firefly, and then a lot of HBO series and shows like Californication, Dexter, etc.

Books: Fight Club, Meditations, Pihkal, Dracula, American Psycho, Harry Potter (working on the 6th language so far)! But mostly I love reading non-fiction (I read a lot of non-fiction) and classics. My favourites are the ones by Alexandre Dumas (three muskateers and count of monte cristo).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've been to the most northern permanent settlement in the entire world and saw a few polar bears.

I bought and rode a motorcycle in Vietnam for 3 weeks in Feb 2015. In the process I lost 95% of my worldly possessions when my bag fell off my bike, leaving me in the middle of Vietnam with just my wallet, passport, clothes on my back, and the few odds and ends. I continued the trip living out of a tiny bag, slowly replacing things as I went. It was a rough time, including food poisoning, but the gorgeous environment and amazing local experiences kept me going.

The first few times I've had full conversations completely in French, walking away and realizing... Wow... I didn't use English at all (that's a crazy idea to an anglophone). It was an amazing feeling that has kept me going. I've had many of these since then, in several languages.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We can communicate in any of my languages, to practice and learn together. I'm a web developer, a writer, and an engineer—if that's any use to you. Otherwise, I can share my love and passion for discussing damn near any topic.

I also love food. It's one of my greatest passions. I would love to eat and cook a while together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, England, France, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Scotland, Singapore, South Korea, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Taiwan, Thailand, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Neal’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups