April Le

San Diego, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see April’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish, Vietnamese
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Pharmacology Research Graduate Student
  • Bachelors degree. Working on my Master's in Pharmacology...
  • From Los Angeles, California
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me


To get my PhD in Neuroscience research in Europe and take these amazing lessons learned (from what I've seen and experienced with me) in Europe back home


-I only do awesome. Everything else is for everyone else.
-15,280 ft. 60 flights. 15-lb SCUBA diving weight belt. 19 countries. 10-meter cliff jumps. 4 cameras. 3 sets of snorkeling gear. 3 hats. 2 beat-up suitcases. 1 HELL of a time.

Born in Vietnam, I am from Los Angeles California, but also call San Diego my home, now. I studied neuroscience and psychology in San Diego and had the chance to work in the biotechnology industry for a few years in Los Angeles. I'm due to start a Master's in Pharmacology program in England soon. In the mean time, I will be backpacking around Europe until school starts.

I love to cook, eat different cuisines, travel (obviously!) and have also dabbled as a make-up artist on various small television and movie productions back home in Hollywood. I'm the eldest of 4 girls in my family and would wish that my sisters could see what I've seen in the world.


Be kind. Be compassionate, especially when people are mean; this means they are miserable in their lives...so it's necessary to be even NICER to them.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I just heard about this neat site and wish I knew about it sooner. I'm sure that folks would love to see the San Diego and Los Angeles that I know, so I'm happy to host (or find other hosts) for people when I can. In the mean time, I would like to meet and share experiences with others who are like me and travel and are open minded to all things new and novel.


I've just joined and don't really know how it works (so forgive me if things are in the wrong place, etc). I look forward to joining the CS groups/meetings when I get settled in the UK!


Cooking. Eating. Trying all sorts of different beers! Traveling. Latin Jazz.

Music, Movies, and Books

Paul Theroux Books. Sade. Comedies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Where do I start? For me, right now, my focus is school. While traveling is something I enjoy immensely, it's not my job or a forever lifestyle. So that said, the most amazing thing I have done so far is get accepted into Oxford.

Travelwise, the most amazing thing I've done is climb the Salkantey Peak in the Peruvian Glacier fields at 5200 meters!! This is HUGE because I am a fish and beach bum more than a bird (I spent a LOT of time in San Diego boarding, diving, etc).

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn to say "Cheers" in the language of each country I go to!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cayman Islands, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Peru, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see April’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups