Nicholas Lobraico's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicholas’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning French, German
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2020
  • Teacher, Tutor, Barista/Server, Furniture Builder, Studio...
  • B.A Humanities & Philosophy, M.A Political Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Canadian currently in France to work on my french language skills. I am travelling around the south of France for a few months, hoping to meet new people and learn as much as I can along the way. I am also on Workaway if you want to connect there!

Canadien dans le sud de la France pour quelques mois afin d’améliorer mon français. Je souhaite faire la connaissance de nouvelles personnes et d’apprendre de nouveaux savoir-faire. Je suis aussi sur Workaway si vous voulez me trouver là!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Many of my friends have encouraged me to join Couchsurfing over the years but I have only now got around to it. Perhaps I have been too timid. Spending a few months in France without a home base or any strict plan will hopefully help me in that regard, and joining Couchsurfing seems like a great way to meet new people and explore different cities.

Plusieurs amis m’ont encouragé de rejoindre Couchsurfing, et ça arrive maintenant. J’étais trop timide, peut-être. J’espère que l’experience de voyager seul en France pour 6 mois va m’aider à cet égard. Je crois que Couchsuring est un bon moyen pour faire la connaissance de nouvelles personnes et découvrir la région.

Interests

I am interested in lots of things, meeting people and learning top the list. I enjoy anything that helps me understand how to better my life, and that of those around me.

  • diy
  • gardening
  • hiking
  • basketball
  • philosophy
  • sustainability
  • language
  • biking
  • litterature
  • history,

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
Broken Social Scene, Blackstar, Erykah Badu, Munya, Frank Ocean, Beach House, Burna Boy, The Internet, Men I Trust, Kaytranada, Blood Orange...

Books:
I love books and enjoy reading most genres. I ran a book club in Montréal for 2.5 years and we read over 50 novels! Mostly sci-fi. Trying to list my favourites is too much work.

Film:
Parasite, Lost in Translation, Spirited Away, Portrait of a Lady on Fire, Call me by Your Name, Drive...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2017 I took a solo trip from Montreal to Tadoussac to watch whales in the mouth of the St Laurent. I spent two nights camping alone near the Fjord-du-Saguenay. I had always wanted to go whale watching and that trip is still one of my favourite experiences.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help with the study of english, literature, philososphy, history.
Also with general writing skills, basic product management on wrike, or practicing sports (esp. football/soccer & basketball).

I would like to work on my French, and to learn anything about french literature, film, cuisine, history..

I like to share. I like to cook and am always happy to prepare a meal with or for other people. I like running, and would be happy to exercise with others or to go hiking/exploring nature. Or to sit with others and share stories.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm eager to please people and would be glad to help out with any chores around the house, or to provide food and cook/share meals with hosts. Provide a bottle of wine. I am generally easy-going and get along with people, but can also be content on my own.

I have experience with home renovations, from painting to basic electrical work, and would be happy to help with things around the home. I am also very interested in DIY, in Montréal I built myself a loft-bed with a couch and desk underneath - I would be very happy to help anyone with projects of that sort.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicholas’s full profile.

My Groups