Nicola Donnelly's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicola’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Gap Year Traveller
  • University of Bath
  • From London, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Hello :) My name is Nicola, my family call me Nicky, and I'm currently on a gap year between uni and work. I graduated in July and have been travelling for 6 months now around Asia. I'm hoping to continue for another 6 months and then back to the UK for a bit of real life!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I heard about the idea from a guy I met in Nepal and it sounded like a cool, cheap way of travelling! I had an amazing culturally-integrated time in India through work and volunteering but since then I've only really had the classic hostel experience, mixing mainly with tourists. When you meet local people, your experience becomes so much more authentic and enriching and it's the best way to learn about a country's culture and way of life - something I love doing!

Interests

Travelling (obviously!), cycling, playing piano and guitar, reading, trying new foods, trying new sports/activities, skiing, meeting new people, exploring

  • culture
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • reading
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • piano
  • cycling
  • skiing
  • sports
  • teaching
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

My music taste is extremely varied and can be very 'un-mainstream' (some may call it 'strange'). My film taste is again very broad; from fantasy to sci-fi, action to thriller, rom-com to horror - anything goes! Aaaand it's the same for books...I'm currently reading 'The Life of Pi' in French, but before that I read 'No Full Stops in India' by Mark Tully, before that 'The Innocent Mage' (which I'm pretty sure was meant for teenagers) and before that a book on the empowerment of tribal women in India...you get the idea.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I couldn't possibly pick just one thing...try my best to experience life I guess...

Teach, Learn, Share

I've worked as a teacher, I love learning and I'm happy to share (except maybe chocolate...though I'm working on that)!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My terrible cooking and hate for mosquitoes. Maybe some interesting conversations can be had along the way too!

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, India, Italy, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicola’s full profile. It’s free!