Nicole Sakai's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicole’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Dentist
  • University of the Pacific
  • From Pearl City, HI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Nicole. I am 29 years old, and getting close to the big 3-0. I currently am working in my last month of work at a dental office before embarking on a journey. I don't really know how else to describe it, but pretty much, after 29 years of life, my life battery is running low and is in need of a recharge. One my goals for this journey is to expand my comfort zone and experience things that I wouldn't normally venture to while meeting cool people and seeing cool stuff along the way. A lot of my trip will be spent in hostels or air bnb private rooms and maybe a little couchsurfing since I've heard great things.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I thought it would be a good option to add to my type of accommodation list and a great way to experience a city in the eyes of a local instead of a tourist. I think that's the best way. I always tell people that my home (hawaii) is not truly experienced until you go with a local. If I have some memorable experiences, would be very open to hosting travelers of my own when I return to the states.

Interests

I love the outdoors. I grew up in Hawaii with endless sunshine and enjoy being outside. Recently, it has been researching travel sites but usually on my free time I like to play sports, i'm very competitive. Need me for a league of some sort? I'm in. I like experiencing new things, checking out a cool hip hop dance battle, or enjoying a glass of wine on the lifeguard stand with a new friend. I'm pretty open to new experiences.

  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • running
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • sports

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite music right now is probably EDM, nothing hard core but happy music that I can listen to while doing other things. Or 90's R&B/pop. I also appreciate singers with depth in their voice, like florence and the machine, which I just saw live at coachella and was an amazing experience.

Movies....some inspiring ones were motorcycle diaries and the way. I enjoyed silver linings playbook, and most sappy romantic comedies (I am a girl).

Books...I have read all of John green's novels and loved each one. Also, Pema chodron's when things fall apart and all of the harry potter books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Quit my job to travel!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook pretty amazing asian/hawaiian food with the right ingredients. I'm a dentist so any dental questions you might have I would love to answer. I would say, friendship and conversations. I love to hear and tell good stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Hong Kong, Japan, Mexico, Panama, Taiwan, Thailand, Turks and Caicos Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicole’s full profile. It’s free!