Nikhil Thakkar's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nikhil’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references
  • Fluent in English, Gujarati, Hindi; learning Chinese (Simplified), Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Product Manager
  • Bachelors of Technology, from NIT Surathkal
  • From Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a 25 year old engineer currently living in Bangalore, India.
I was born in Dubai, and lived there for the first 18 years of my life. I moved to India to study chemical engineering from NIT Surathkal (one of the top ten engineering colleges in India) and graduated in 2015. I'm currently based in Bangalore, and I work for a artificial intelligence startup here.
I love travelling, meeting new people and learning about their experiences and exploring different cultures and cuisines, and I'm passionate about products, technology and startups.
I blog about my life and travels on https://nikthakkar.wordpress.com/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've lived and travelled extensively in India; where language, food, culture & clothing completely changes at a distance of every 250km - Yet the constant thing has always been that how genuinely caring all these human beings were. I now want to go around the world, and meet more such locals, to learn more about their life, culture and their day-to-day experiences.
And of-course, to meet other travellers, turn them into friends, to grow my network bigger, and to make the world smaller.

Interests

I love doing things that I've never done before - may it be learning a new sport, a new language, or picking up a new hobby.
I'm always up for any spontaneous trips, infact these unplanned trips are some of the best memories. And I blog about my experiences too.

  • culture
  • books
  • technology
  • reading
  • blogging
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • history
  • travel
  • adventure
  • trekking
  • middle east
  • startups
  • social enterprise
  • technologies
  • adventure sports
  • solo backpacking

Music, Movies, and Books

Music -
Open to a lot of genres, and I particularly like the following bands - ColdPlay, Poets of the Fall, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, John Mayer, Avicii, Ed Sheeran, Alan Walker.
Bollywood - AR Rahman, Arijit Singh, KK, Shankar Mahadevan, Vishal shekhar, shreya ghoshal, sunidhi chauhan.

Favourite Movies -
Gladiator, Shutter Island, Inception, Departed, The Prestige - Infact all DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese movies.

Favourite Books -
Particularly interested in Middle East genre and books by Khalid Hosseini, Nadia Hashimi, Siba Shakib, Jean Sasson.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

As a college student studying in South India, I bunked two weeks of college, and travelled by train + bus from South of India to Nepal by road (a distance more than 2800km), and then trekked to Ghorepani- Poon Hill peak in Nepal, which is 3200m above sea level - All this while my classmates were studying in their classes.

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak three Indian languages; I grew up in the Middle East, and live in the 'Silicon Valley of India'. I'd love to share my experiences on a lots of things about India and Dubai. And can teach a lot about new technologies, startups and latest technological trends.

What I Can Share with Hosts

About my experiences growing up in Dubai, and about life in Middle East. I can share about my experiences in technology companies in Bangalore, and what's it like to work there.
Besides, I've travelled to a lot of places, and can help the hosts plan their travel if they plan to go to the places that I've been to before. I've extensively travelled across India, and can help people plan their India trips.

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Nepal, Russian Federation, Sri Lanka, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, United Arab Emirates

Join Couchsurfing to see Nikhil’s full profile.