Niklas Van Doorne's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Niklas’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Heidelberg, Germany
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

just finished my studies and soon off to a road trip, after which I will be working in South Sudan.

ABOUT ME

Originally from Heidelberg in Germany, I have lived in the US (a year), in India (1.5 years) and in London (5 years). I have been increasingly attracted by urban life, the buzz of the city is certainly alluring. Yet I do enjoy a few days of escape to the relative calm of the countryside every now and then. Just finished my masters and I love a good and open-minded debate or friendly chat, though often it tends to become about politics in one way or the other.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

CS provides such a beautiful opportunity, supporting our world to be a place of sharing. Until recently I have not been involved much in CS, although I have been signed up to the website for several years.
Unfortunately living in a room in London I neither have a proper couch nor sufficient space to share for sleeping, although when I am away I have made my room available.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

until now once only, in Kerala India, I met a nice expat, who helped me a lot to get to know the local scene.

Interests

International affairs, humanitarianism, all things political and social. I love photography and film, not just consuming it but also making it and I have worked in the sector for several years. Of course, my passion is travelling, we all share this one. In particular I enjoy proper backpacking/trekking for days on end, and prefer to do so in warmer climates.

  • photography
  • politics
  • traveling
  • backpacking

Music, Movies, and Books

I suppose too many to list, now reading Orwell's Burmese Days, apart from a few other more academic pieces.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Ghana, Greece, Italy, Macedonia, Madagascar, Montenegro, Nepal, Netherlands, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, India, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Niklas’s full profile. It’s free!