Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nik’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 45 References 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Finnish, French, German
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Movement educator
  • B.S. in Linguistics & Computer Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Shine brightly


I cannot host right now! People seem to be missing the big UNAVAILABLE on my couch info to the left, so I shall put it here. :-)

Feel free to write if you would like to meet up though; I love to meet people and show them around.

Also, because San Francisco is difficult to find hosts in, I do suggest you try Berkeley and Oakland. It's easy to get across the bay via BART and both cities are cool to stay in.

---- We now return you to my regularly scheduled profile. ----

I am something of an urban monk. I live simply and quietly by myself in a busy city. I'm a strict vegetarian (vegan), I don't smoke or drink, not even coffee, and I generally try to be kind to my environment. I've never been much of an extrovert, in that I avoid loud, crowded scenes, but I enjoy meeting new people for conversation and just hanging out. My favorite thing to do is go out for dinner, whether alone or with a couple of friends; I also go to indie theaters sometimes (film & plays).

I got a B.S. in Linguistics & Computer Science in 1991, which led to a career as a technical writer and software engineer up to 2011. I am now taking some time off to pursue personal interests, particularly movement studies, but whatever else might strike my fancy. On the list are: acrobatics, parkour, aikido.

I'm also a gamer geek. I have a small collection of board games, which I play far less often than I would like, and a big collection of role-playing games, which I also play far less often than I would like.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've hosted people and stayed with people. It's been great fun so far.

As a Host
I try to make time on weekends and evenings to show my guests around. If you like to go out on your own, though, that's fine too! I have a car and can take you to the Golden Gate Bridge or up to Twin Peaks, the tallest hill in the middle of the city, or maybe even someplace farther away. Just ask!

As a Guest
I make sure I don't take up much space, and I keep my things packed together. I don't smoke or drink, and I don't stay out late without letting my hosts know. I'm not much of a partier, but I enjoy good conversation and company. I'm just as comfortable being quiet, though.

I am very independent in terms of going out and finding things on my own, but I have to admit that I always have a rough first day after a long voyage. :-) I may just crash for a few hours while I recover.


I've had a few borderline incidents with guests but no negative experiences. I don't host as much as I might like, but it turns out I need recovery time every few months no matter how nice the company.

Surfing: 2008
I stayed with folks while travling in Finland, and was for the most part it was COMPLETELY AWESOME. I used to hate to travel, because I never really got to know anybody. On this trip I made friends everywhere I went.

Also, I found my long-lost relatives in Finland with the kind help of surfer Sanna Tukia. Thanks so much!

Surfing: 2009
I only surfed on one trip in 2009, to Paris. Searching for a couch seems to be more difficult now. There are so many hosts to write, and there's no way to screen for availalbility by date to avoid writing someone who's already booked. I think CS needs to improve its search function by a lot to make it easier for both surfers and hosts.

The one host I actually managed to stay with while in Paris was very nice.

The community stuff is in better shape, but I've been too busy at work to participate much on that front. I'll be trying to make time to contrible more there, so we'll see.


Currently I spend most of my time studying the Feldenkrais Method and aikido. I am about to resume some language studies too.

Language, travel (trying to!), good film, vegan/natural foods, Thai & Indian food, gaming. Hope to fit indoor rock-climbing back into my schedule someday.

  • tango
  • dining
  • indian food
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • crafts
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • sign language
  • parkour
  • aikido
  • thai food
  • acrobatics
  • movement
  • feldenkrais

Music, Movies, and Books

I mostly read books on somatic theory and methodologies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hm. One morning when I was a teenager I hopped on my bike and rode 55 miles through the hilly woods to the nearest city. No training or anything, I just rode on up. Made it halfway back too, before a friend of my parents passed me, pulled over, and insisted I get in the car. :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

Language is one of my major interests, and I'd be happy to share the handful of langauges I'm good at.

I live in a pretty cool city and can show you around, or at least point you toward things you might like that aren't on tourist maps. If I don't know about something, my friends will!

Misc things:
• I know where most of the vegetarian restaurants are, and several of the good Indian & Thai places. Also, if I don't know about it myself, I can find out about it; San Francisco is a great foodie town in general.
• I know a number of good used bookshops.
• I live near the Castro, which is the big gay center of the city, but there are other areas to check out, such as SoMa (South of Market, where most of the dance clubs are) and Polk Gulch (smaller clubs & bars). I can fill you in on major queer events or find out for you.
• The Haight has a lot of interesting shopping, lots of counterculture & scenester stuff going on.
• Several neighborhoods have weekend street fairs: The Castro, The Haight, SoMa/Folsom, and more. The Folsom Street Fair is all about kinky sex, but most of the others are about crafts, music, & food.
• There's some great hiking to do inside San Francisco and not too far outside. The Marin Headlands has a great view of the city from across the Golden Gate Bridge.

There's tons more, of course. If there's anything in particular you'd like to ask about, send me a message!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Sweden, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Nik’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups