Logo orange

NOMADTEACHER

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see NOMADTEACHER's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 127 Positive References
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Malay
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From My samsonite
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To eat my way around the world, one meal at a time.

ABOUT ME

Hello! My name is Selina. I'm a teacher by profession and a part-time traveller! I love to cook, learn to juggle, play my ukulele and hang out with my friends; sharing wonderful meals together and having a good laugh :) I also love meeting new people and having awesome conversations on almost any topics; my particular interest includes food, culture, history and social issues. People inspire me and I take a little bit of that and blend it into what is now me :)

I often struggle to fill this part out accurately, so for more information about me- feel free to go through my references below. Or we meet, and you can form your own opinion of me :)

I can also be found on: http://www.bewelcome.org/members/nomadteacher

PHILOSOPHY

Pack and go, then pack and go again, again, and again...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

2014 is now my seventh year in the CouchSurfing Community! I started off as a little minion, going to gatherings, whether its out for drinks, foodies night or just to explore Melbourne. Now not only do I participate but I also try to organize as many CS events as often as I can.

I helped out in Melbourne's very first Summer CouchSurfing Festival in 2009 Melbourne CS Summer Fest: 24 Jan - 1 Feb 2009

I help organize the Melbourne CouchSurfing Zone that happens every 2nd Tuesday.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've surfed a few times but hosted plenty of times!

Interests

I love EVERYTHING about food! From this one theme I like to expand on the history, to the geography and culture of a country; I also like the practical side of cooking and sharing a meal with friends.

I am addicted to my ukulele. It is a super cool instrument!

Music, Movies & Books

I listen to an eclectic range of music depending on my mood. Bands that are currently played on high rotation on my MP3:

Empire of the Sun Deep Purple Bag Raiders Little Dragon Al Green Alt-J Timbre

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I was born in Canada and I've either lived, studied, worked or done all three in Malaysia, Singapore, Canada, Brunei, China, Australia, Portugal and Belgium.

Camped 10 days in the South Australian Desert, under the milky way.

Brought German Mike and Natalia to Victoria Market and bought fresh produce to cook 3 different meals from Germany, Spain and Malaysia. We started at 2pm and ended our feast at 7pm; 5 hours of food orgy!-yes the simplest things in life can be just as exciting!

My bestfriend Alice and I wrapped up our lives in Melbourne and together - moved to Lisbon for the summer and sold spring rolls in the busy party district of Bairro Alto and Bica on weekends and chilled the rest of the week. Life was good.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn, teach and share about good home cooked food from all over the world. From the history, region, produce and up to the process of making that fabulous dish :D Due to friends' dietary requirements I've been experimenting with vegan dishes while trying to retain it's ethnic/regional influences, with much success:)

If you take on my ukulele challenge, I will have you playing the ukulele in 10 minutes.

I'm also looking for somebody who can teach me how to twirl my Indian fire clubs :)

New to Melbourne and hungry for some serious cheap eats? Check out my map for Eating in Melbourne for less than $10

Countries I've Visited

Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, France, Kosovo, Macedonia, Morocco, Netherlands, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, China, Malaysia, Portugal, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see NOMADTEACHER's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile