Okal Otieno's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Okal’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Swahili; learning German
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Software Developer, User Interface Designer, Bassist, scr...
  • I hold a Bachelor of Science in Electronic and Computer E...
  • From Nairobi
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me


I want to hear as many stories from as many people as possible in one lifetime. Tell me yours...


I'm a friendly, if somewhat reserved 20-something year old Nairobian. I'd try anything once is my mantra of late. I wear many hats, some of which fit better than others.


Minimalism is my driving philosophy in almost everything, although I'm no ascetic.

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away."

Antoine de Saint-Exupery


Software Development: I feel lucky to be able to make a living doing something I enjoy. I've done a wide variety of work, mostly involving web and SMS technologies. I find the theoretical as well as practical aspects of my craft as intriguing as any piece of art.
Music: I'm really into music - from the delightfully obscure to the embarrassingly mainstream - though it mostly falls in the former part of the spectrum. I play the bass guitar, and I'm also learning how to play the acoustic guitar and keys during the evenings after work. I played in an indie band that's currently on hiatus, looking to form a new one this year.
Cycling: I get to work on my bike, and I'm always on the hunt for bike trails.
Green renting: I have a small balcony garden that provides 1 out of 10 of my meals at the moment.
Artsy stuff: I like to check out exhibitions every now and then.
Simple living: I'm not keen on owning a lot of things. All my possessions are constantly under review.
A bit of a foodie: I love to eat and cook new things. Eating out and buying unusual things to cook are some of the few guilt-free indulgences I allow myself.

  • arts
  • cooking
  • walking
  • gardening
  • eating out
  • minimalism
  • coding
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • software

Music, Movies, and Books

I read across a lot of diverse topics, usually juggling 3 books at a time. I tend to abandon books that don't sustain my interest. Life is too short to squander away on boring books, is it not?

I enjoy movies, though I'll admit I haven't watched too many of late.

I'm always on the lookout for new music. I don't identify with any particular genre, but I gravitate toward the quirky and irreverent, or the dark. I can have Black Sabbath and Bob Marley queued on the same playlist, if that tells you anything. Two piece rock bands in the vein of the White Stripes hold a special place in my heart :-) It inspires me to see great art produced under such limiting circumstances.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

* Exploring a gorge with the impending threat of flash floods at the back of my mind.
* Walking across a wobbly suspension bridge over a furious river.
* Getting struck by incoming tidal waves while standing on a sand bar. Pretty intense considering that I can't swim :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to play the bass guitar, how to code (probably can't teach you much beyond "Hello World" in that space of time), how to cook a near-perfect ugali (a Kenyan staple), and enough Sheng'/Kiswahili to be dangerous :-)

I'm eager to learn whatever you'd like to share with me.

Countries I’ve Visited


Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Okal’s full profile. It’s free!