Sebastian Wieland's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sebastian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • Programmer
  • University
  • From Munich, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! I'm a nature lover from Munich! If you come visiting me, I will give you a tour of Munich and / or take you on a hike in the Alps.

Due to personal reasons I cannot host anyone right now; this might change within the next month or two.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to explore the world in a sustainable way; that's why I'm not looking for luxury. I do not believe in the entitlement that we, humanity, should be able to go everywhere at any time as fast as possible, as cheap as possible, just because we have had the technology to do so in an extremely wasteful way for about half a century. Until we find a way to do so in a sustainable way, I do not believe that we earned this privilege. This is why I travel by train and bus almost exclusively; my only two plane trips in my life were when I lived in Canada and in Australia for 6 months each. I consider Hotels to be unnecessarily wasteful. Hostels, Couches, Dormitories are perfectly fine for the lifestyle I have chosen to be mine.

Interests

  • classical music
  • jazz
  • opera
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • road cycling

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a big opera lover. Before the pandemic, I went to the opera about once every week. It's less than that now, but if you're interested, maybe we can go to one together (don't worry about it being expensive. Standing tickets are often less than 20€)

Other than that: My favourite film is Grand Budapest Hotel
I can't pinpoint what my favourite book is because there are so many different genres to pick from, which are not comparable in my opinion. The one that I'm currently reading is the Gereon Rath crime series by Volker Kutscher

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Definitely Interrailing, several times. Most fun I had in my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

In my free time I do calligraphy. I can teach you the basics of that! I love talking about music (especially classical music), science and technology, but I'm not limited to that. I am very political, and I like having political discussions, as long as they remain factual and not become emotional.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you need your bike repaired, I can do it for you while I stay at your place. Other than that, I can cook and bring souvenirs from Munich.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Guernsey, Ireland, Italy, Jersey, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Sebastian’s full profile.