Omid Hatami

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Omid’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 92 References 43
  • Fluent in English, Persian (Farsi); learning Arabic (Gulf), French, German
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Mathematics Researcher
  • PhD in Mathematics
  • From Esfahan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've just finished my PhD in Mathematics at University of Cambridge under supervision of Fields Medalist Timothy Gowers. Other than Mathematics I'm interested in many other subjects from Physics and Computer Science to Humanities :-)
I love learning from different people, their culture and their view about life. That actually comes from my interest in philosophy and human anthropology.


No pain, no gain !!!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I know Cambridge, Isfahan, Tehran (generally Iran), Istanbul, Bonn, Bombay, Trieste and San Francisco Bay Area well. I know quite well about everywhere in Iran, its culture, music, linguistics, traditions, travelling in the country, it historical heritage, etc. I also know the Middle East well. If you intend to go to Afghanistan, Pakistan, Central Asia, Caucasus or any country in Middle East, I can provide you information about culture, traditions, folklore music, visas, security, travel tips, hitchhiking, cheap flights, attractions, etc. I have a huge of database of ebooks, travel stories, movies and documentaries about the region which I can provide.

I'm kind of a sociable person and I'd like to have friends around the world. I'll try to be hospitable once you're at my place.


I have participated in a few Couchsurfing gatherings and I've tried to help other CouchSurfers. I moderated Iran's Group on CS for about one year. I also have many surfing and hosting experiences through Couchsurfing. Here is my old profile:

However many of my best surfings and hostings happened outside this website. It happened with simple people invited me to their house with open heart. From villages in Latin America to Caucasus and Yurts in Central Asia to nomads in Iran and Afghanistan and Kasbahs in North Africa...


- Science & Knowledge: Mathematics, Physics, Computer Science, Philosophy, Psychoanalysis, Literature, Sociology, Linguistics, Anthropology, History
- Sports & Outdoor activities: Walking, Running, Swimming, Soccer, Ping Pong, Hiking, Mountain Climbing, Traveling, Hitchhiking
- Others: Photography, Solving Problems, Reading Books, Internet, Intellectual Discussions, Sharing ideas

Music, Movies, and Books

- Stalker
- Trois Couleurs
- Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter and Spring...
- Hamoun
a lot more...

- Traditional Iranian Music
- Folklore Music of Iran, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Central Asia, Afghanistan, Kurdistan, Pakistan, etc.
- Classical Music

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have got a Bronze and a Gold medal in Iranian National Mathematics Olympiad, a Silver medal in International Mathematics Olympiad 2005, First prize in International Mathematics Competition for University students in 2006 and 2008, and a Gold medal in Iranian Mathematical Society competition 2008 and ...

I have been to many Universities and Mathematics Institutes around the world such as Tata Institute in Mumbai, Max Planck Institute in Bonn, ICTP in Trieste, Galatasaray University in Istanbul, Samarkand University in Uzbekistan, Shandong University in China, Stanford University in California, University of Cambridge in England, IHP in Paris, France, ETH in Zurich, Switzerland and University of Heraklion in Crete, University of California at Los Angeles, and University of Oxford in England, Banff Research Station in Canada and University of Bristol in UK.

I've also experienced being Quantitative Analyst in South East Asian financial markets for intra-day pricing projects.

I traveled to Afghanistan for two weeks, and stayed all nights at people's house. It was definitely the best trip in my life...

I've hitchhiked 2500 kilometers from Tehran to Beirut and had a great experience in June 2011. I hitchhiked across Central America in January 2012. I also have hitchhiking experience in Baltic, Caucasus and Baluchistan and Balkans!

I stayed with monks in villages of Laos.

I have experience of living in seven countries in three continents.

I've been to more than 60 countries.

It's actually a lot more. You'll see once we talk and meet.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you many things from Mathematics to Persian Language and Linux. I can also tell you about Iranian Culture. I have 4 TB of Music, documentaries, books, movies etc. and I can share them with you.

I can offer more but it's too large to fit in here. I'll tell you when we meet.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Well, it's a lot. I can show you some pictures from my trips. I can tell you stories about places I've travelled. I'm up to conversations about Philosophy, Culture and music. I can also tell you about Mathematics. It's a lot more. You'll see when we meet :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Wales, Western Sahara

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, India, Iran, Italy, Malaysia, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    25 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Omid’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups