Osbo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Osbo’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Community College
  • From Riverside, CA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to be the person I want to be.

ABOUT ME

I am 25 years old. I study anthropology at UCLA, and am completely in love with the field of anthropology. I live in beautiful California--in Los Angeles during the school year and Lake Elsinore during breaks (when I am not traveling!) I read quite a lot. I also write quite a lot, and have a blog that I -try- to write regularly in. I love to cook and travel and hear people's stories as well.

PHILOSOPHY

My personal philosophy: add something. Add something to people I talk to, places I live, etc. I don't want to be meaningless in the world, and I'm willing to work hard to create that meaning.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I was fortunate enough to stay with a fabulous host in London my very first time couchsurfing. Following that, I found some couchsurfers driving to Bulgaria and traveled with them to Sofia where I stayed with an extremely cool British gentleman who cooked Thai food and crepes and listened to interesting music. From there, I took a bus to Greece where I couchsurfed with an amazing Greek man and his amazing Greek family for a week.

A few months after I returned from that trip, I found two couchsurfers who wanted to go to the Grand Canyon, and we drove to Joshua Tree and camped there, drove to a little town in Arizona, and then drove to and camped in the Grand Canyon. It was freezing but so lovely.

My next goal is New York over the holidays. Cue the crossing of fingers.

Interests

I love to read; right now I'm reading Game of Thrones and am enjoying (and hating at some points) every moment.

I'm only at the undergrad level, but I love research. I just presented on the potential evolutionary underpinnings of the feeling of loneliness.

I love to write and have a blog.

I like math but am not very good at it.

I love people: meeting them, talking with them, getting to know them. I can be shy, but it's not because I'm not interested in knowing you.

I enjoy cooking immensely, and sometimes have food epiphanies at random moments.

I love video games: World of Warcraft, Diablo I & II, Baulder's Gate, Final Fantasy 7

I enjoy sci-fi: Doctor Who, Star Trek, and really anything from Joss Whedon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Dollhouse, Firefly).

  • writing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • video games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • anthropology
  • teaching
  • mathematics
  • medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Jane Austen, Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Percy Jackson Series, Dracula

Movies: Lord of the Rings, any superhero movie except maybe The Hulk, Harry Potter

Music: Daft Punk, love a good soundtrack (Danny Elfman, Hans Zimmer, Steve Jablonsky, James Newton Howard), and anything nostalgic. I love music that makes me want to dance even though I look like an electrocuted lobster when I do it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going to school has been an amazing thing. There have been loads of obstacles, but I've still been able to go and do great things and learn great things there.

Traveling to Europe for the first time, spontaneously, and deciding that I would couchsurf. I had the most life-changing time. I learned so much about the generosity of others, and the care and love of others. I also was inspired to think new things and start dreaming of new possibilities for my goals.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've tutored English for about six years now, and worked as an English writing tutor for my old community college, so I've been professionally trained. I've also been published (two research proposals and a research article) in two separate journals for undergraduate students. I really do enjoy English and teaching it, so I would be more than happy to help!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I absolutely love to cook, even if I am not the best at it. I regularly host potlucks for my friends, so I really just enjoy feeding people and talking and hanging out. I would be happy to share some food!

I can also help with any sort of writing or English-related endeavor. I've helped people complete applications, write articles or essays, write cover letters, professional letters or emails. I've read and written for so long, that I believe I developed an eye for what sounds good or appropriate or inviting or whatever else might be needed!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, Greece, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Osbo’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups