Logo orange

Nils's Groups

Nils Ottermann

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nils's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Spanish, Swahili
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Sys-Admin
  • No education listed
  • From Duesseldorf, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Settling down in Sydney, on the longterm hunt for citizenship

ABOUT ME

Travelled 2 years through africa and asia, and now i settled down in sydney for a bit, trying to do some projects, work towards my permanent residency, and then keep going again.

Started backpacking in 2004 with a journey through the greek islands. Infected from then, i saved up money to take it further.

September 2011 i started a 2 1/2 years trip, which took me across asia for almoust 1 year and 4 months, and will take me across australia and new zealand until i have the feeling of going back. Before that i went to south africa twice and was working in Tanzania for some months doing volunteer work for an NGO.

I'm into art, streetart and graffiti, and wherever possible I try to meet up with the "scene" while travelling. I'm not a hardcore entertaining person, but laid back, gentle and (hopefully) a nice person to be down with.

I know that pictures always give a better description about a person than words, so feel free to check my FLICKR page for more insight:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/yetanotherfotostream/sets/

PHILOSOPHY

Having done a boring office job for quite a while, i never wanted to become part of that world. I'm travelling to find out more about my strengths and weaknesses, to one day doing something completely different. It's also about making myself a picture of the world and its different cultures in order to understand better what this life is all about.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I surfed couches in china, korea, japan and malaysia, met up for art exhibitions all over asia, or joined random CS events. Whenever i need some specific advise i'd contact CSers first, as i appreciate their expertise.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

during my trip i've had incredible experiences through couchsurfing, both surfing and attending CS gatherings. I've met kickass people, learned from them, partied with them, and some of my best friendships which now exist have come through couchsurfing. I surfed in china, korea, malaysia and japan, and met couchsurfers all the way throug asia.

Interests

travelling is definitely the love of my life! apart from that i'm involved into arts, photography, graffiti and streetart, playing pool, skateboard-cruising, music, everything fancy and exciting

(I'm looking to extend this list in future, so if you can help and teach me something i'd be very thankful!)

Music, Movies & Books

definitely a big fan of radiohead. apart from that i'm listening to rap, IDM, dubstep, rock ... sometimes classical music as well, like solo piano plays. And cuban music, accoustic guitar singer songwriter stuff, etc.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Diving within a huge swarm of sardines, so many that you could not see the surface anymore, i got lost completely, but fascinated to the fullest.

Safari through one of the greatest wonders on earth - the Ngorongoro crater in tanzania.

Teach, Learn, Share

i can teach how to read and write korean! i found it amazingly easy to learn, but i can't understand what I'm actually reading there.

i'm also willing to learn mandarin and probably japanese at one point, i already got the basics. it will depend on the place i feel like i wanna live. Always want to learn nerdy things like rubik's cube, chess, juggling, flairtricks, pois, drawing ... but somehow always too lazy and unfocussed - that's why i need people to push me. ;)

Also, i wanna learn about juggling, glass making, vegeterian cooking (even though i'm no veggie, i appreciate the creativity of cooking), etc.

i'm not sure about what i could teach, because i'm not specialized in anything really. Let me think about that. Hmmmmm, well i can teach you how to read and write korean, but please don't ask me what it means.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Cambodia, China, France, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Netherlands, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Germany, Tanzania

Join Couchsurfing to see Nils's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile