Oli Norwell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Oli’s full profile.

Overview

  • 71 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Game Developer / Software Entrepreneur
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Trying to live the best life I possibly can...

MOTO

"Whether you think you can, or you think you can't -- you're right" - Henry Ford

ABOUT ME

I'd describe myself as fun, ambitious, confident, tolerant, understanding, happy, light hearted, very motivated, intelligent, laid back, driven. Yes, I'm also good at contradicting myself!

I enjoy meeting new people, and have the slightly optimistic viewpoint that at the end of the day we're all far more alike than we often admit. I enjoy participating in communities like CS as every new connection breaks down another barrier in this world.

I've been fortunate enough to meet a wide variety of people, and I don't think I've ever met anyone that I haven't gotten on with on some level, or found some common ground!

If all else fails I just talk about sport (mainly football), language isn't a barrier when discussing the beautiful game!

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
(Para los hablantes de español)

Hola a todo,

Soy un chico inglés que vive en Granada, España. Encontré couchsurfing después de llegar a Málaga sin ninguno amigo hace 8 años. Después de una semana encontré couchsurfing y el hecho de que hubo un evento en Málaga, fui al evento y el resto es historia como se dice! Ocho años después y hosteo CSers en mi piso y disfruto del hacer amigos a traves de esta web. Diría que soy un chico ambicioso, simpático, sabio, divertido y fidedigno, y suena previsible pero creo que webs como couchsurfing puede hacer el mundo mejor y mas conectado.

Llevo ocho años aprendiendo español, creo que mi nivel es suficiente alto para charlas en la mayoría de temas, pero perdoname si hago errores frecuentes jaja! Me gustaría 'hostear' gente que no habla inglés para practicar mi español.

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

PHILOSOPHY

I believe in living a purposeful life, with definite aims and goals. Living for the moment is fair enough if you've got great people around you. But once they move on you're gonna need something to keep you busy!

I believe that a man (or woman) can achieve anything that they can persuade their own mind that they can achieve. Time and time again I find this to be true in my own life.

I think people should take responsibility for their own futures, and help each other to have the confidence to do whatever is necessary to ensure each others futures turn out how they want them to.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love the idea of hosting surfers from all around the world. I began to do this in July 2011 and have found it to be even better than I imagined. I moved to Granada in 2018 and no longer have any room to host people, but I still enjoy meeting people and showing them around.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have enjoyed being part of the CS community in Málaga, Spain, since July 2010. I'm very grateful for all the new friends I have made since joining, many many good experiences, no bad experiences at all.

Interests

Sports (Football/soccer, F1, cricket, tennis, American football, snooker... anything really!)

  • coffee
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • cycling
  • sports
  • cricket
  • american football
  • soccer
  • tennis
  • tours
  • snooker

Music, Movies, and Books

Oasis are my favourite band. Kasabian are great too.

I love comedy movies... so Dumb & Dumber, You, Me and Dupree, Knocked Up, that kind of thing!

Fictionwise I like Dan Brown novels. I'm often found reading practical non-fiction, by authors such as Napoleon Hill.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Witnessing the Ashes tour of 2006/07 in Australia was amazing (cricket). England lost 5-0 but I was at most of the games, and really felt part of something huge. It was my first major trip overseas on my own, and ignited a passion for travelling and 'meeting the world', which has led me to hosting people through this website.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can give tours of Granada
I can give advice on travelling in Spain & Europe

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Fiji, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Macao, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Oli’s full profile.