Logo orange

Pallavi Sen

Brooklyn, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pallavi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Hindi; learning Bengali, Bangla, French
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Sculptor and printmaker!
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts
  • From Bombay, India
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I am 24, I am an artist and I love the sun.

Here are some other things I love very much: decorative arts, museums, carrots, bacon, puff-paints, oranges, cooking, warm food, old hindi film songs, sacha baron cohen, stamps, bookbinding, typography, printed fabric, bowties, dandies, curiously white clouds, cotton pods & glass bottles.

I love people who are kind and respectful and like sharing stories about their life. I really, really love all animals except reptiles, who I do not hate but don't want to touch.

I like humming and I'm learning how to whistle. You can teach me how to snap my fingers if you know how to.

PHILOSOPHY

I am a very progressive woman and I am a happy feminist. I believe that one must always treat others in a manner that one would like to be treated. I am a strong supporter of equality in marriage and gender and the rights of all living creatures :) I love animals very much too and I treat them the same way I do a person.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host and I travel!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am still very new to CouchSurfing but we just hosted our very first guests this past weekend. It was such a wonderful experience because through it I got to know and understand a culture very different from mine and improve my understanding of other langauges. I enjoy the company of most travelers because the sort of person who travels and moves away from home and risks meeting and sharing time with complete strangers, cannot be too boring at all :)

Outside of a formal CS experience, while growing up, we have always had a lot of guests since my family in India is quite large and loves all their 2nd and 3rd cousins. I think some of the most memorable moments of my childhood include someone visiting from a country quite far away and having long, long conversations about how things are different or the same, where they live now! Also, guests always meant that my family would go all out on the cooking and we could eat things that weren't made otherwise. That I always love and try and continue in my own kitchen :)

Interests

I love small things that I can collect, dried flowers, glass bottles, stamps, cards, polaroids, museums (museums are my favourite!), fabrics with lots of lovely patterns, tiles, mosques. I also love running into sweet dogs and cats who want to play and I love ececream. I'm in love with fantastic food and interesting flavours and bake a lot. I like reading books that have wonderful cover art and I love listening to the radio. Being with friends, eating warm, wonderful food and having plenty of sun are my favourite things :)

Music, Movies & Books

I have embarrassing tastes in music and I have loved books and book covers all my life. I love both terrible and great movies.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

When I was about 13, I visited an island called grisgris in Mauritious. At first the beach felt very hard to walk on, almost painful. I looked down and I saw that instead of sand, the entire beach was covered with miniscule shells. It was a very new beach and I just loved knowing that I was walking on something young and lovely (also a bit sad) and it was so exciting to look for shell twins!

And any morning when I wake up to rain, especially if I'm in Bombay and even more if it is on a saturday, I feel really, really wonderful. I love how mud smells when it rains and I love the colour of the air when it has stopped and it gets just slightly sunny. So lovely!

And a third one would be waking up to morning prayers in a monastery high up in Himachal Pradesh. I was about 16, really not excited about waking up at 5 am but since I have very enthusiastic parents, I was able to listen to something that was not only magical in it's vocal quality, but also in how it felt as the sounds went through me. Outside all the plants were a bit purple and the mountains were so bare and flat.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can cook quite well, especially North Indian food and I do try to cook at least one wonderful meal for any guest of ours. I would love share what I know, just like the way I have been taught. I am also an artist and I am very interested in fabric and pattern and really enjoy sharing my love for the arts with anyone who is interested :)

Countries I've Visited

Egypt, France, India, Mauritius, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

India, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Pallavi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile