Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ovidiu’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 60 References 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Greek (modern), Romanian; learning Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish
  • 114, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Journalist - Greek Association of Foreign Journalists
  • Master in Political Sciece, Univ of Athens
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Searching for the road to success!!!

ABOUT ME

Here are few pieces of information about me.

My name is Ovidiu Palcu.
I was born on June 10, (I guess this means I'm a Gemini, but I don't care about it, 'cause I don't believe in horoscopes) in Brasov city (considered in Romania the most beautiful city and the gate of entrance in Transylvania) but I lived mostly in Alba Iulia and few years in Cluj Napoca.
After studying different things in Romania and going through several jobs, I settled in Athens city, Greece where I lived permanently for 19 years since 1995! After I moved for a period in Scotland and now in Gibraltar and Spain!

Have I mentioned that I love to travel? Oh and I love to travel often!!! Oh and I love to travel CHEAP!!! I travelled since today in 50 countries!!!
I studied in the best school in Greece at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens and probably in the Balkans ( I guess I am not overdoing?)

The key for success is education and once you pursue that then there will be many other opportunities. My commitment to learning and volunteering with several Greek organizations has helped me to integrate easier in the Greek society.
At the moment I work in Gibraltar, after 6 months living in Gibraltar city, I moved to La Linea de la Conception, only few km away. I live close to the beach and the border with Gibraltar

PHILOSOPHY

I call my long experience abroad and specially in Greece amazing, and I am incredibly grateful to Greece, the Greek people and in special to my new friends for this period of my life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I was active in Athens, participating to Athens CS group activities or posting and proposing events, here in Gibraltar CS activities are rare..

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted during the last years around 40 people, and personal I've been hosted in Poland, Romania, Belgium and France.

Interests

• Extensive reading and writing, watching movies
• Traveling
• Discovering people’s cultures
• Stimulating conversations and also learning on any subject

  • culture
  • writing
  • education
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • teaching
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I like watching movies, listening music or reading books, but I don't have a specific movie, song or book which I can say is my preferate.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I travelled in 50 countries! My last trips were in Iran and Azores islands
As I became more active in the community and participated more in activities during my free time, I met new great people.

Teach, Learn, Share

Share my experience in Greece, Greek cultures from the eyes of an expat and now Romanian/Greek culture to new people I meet here in the multicultural Gibraltar/La Linea

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, India, Iran, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Peru, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Gibraltar, Greece, Moldova, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Ovidiu’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups