Logo orange

Patrick Chester

Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning French
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Head of Content for digital marketin...
  • University
  • From Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To cycle as much as possible, to live in Montreal, and to learn French *ACHIEVED*

New mission: to live in Kuala Lumpur and eventually go freelance so I can return to Brazil.

ABOUT ME

Hi there, it's been a long time since I updated my profile, but I'll leave it written out below so fellow couch-surfers can see my history on this amazing site. I'm currently living in Kuala Lumpur, and accepting couch-surfers.

I work in Kuala Lumpur, it is a darn cool city. Up for hiking, climbing and exploring the jungle. Night-life here is cool, although expensive.

I cycled (August 2012 to September 2012) across Canada from Québec to British Columbia - 6000km. It took two months and I got on TV.

The blog is at EvoxacrossCanada.wordpress.com if you want to take a look.

I like hearing people's stories and cooking new food with people. I'm a peaceful, calm guy, quite reflective, out to try new things and learn some new languages.

PHILOSOPHY

Anything that makes you nervous before you do it is almost certainly worth doing.

Speeches, rock-climbing, wake-boarding, penalty kicks in football, exams, swimming really far out at sea; I like all of this stuff.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm looking forward to meeting new people on the road. We've had couchsurfers round at our place in Montreal and it's been great.

Now in Kuala Lumpur, accepting travellers, especially Portuguese and French-speakers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've heard lots of good things and met both surfers and hosts, one of whom is now a close friend.

I've rented apartments through friends I've met on CS, and have so far just had great experiences with people I've met.

Interests

Being outdoors, rock-climbing, swimming, cycling, I've just tried wake-boarding (very cool), learning French, reading literature (I write for a little book review site), French and English cinema, talking, philosophy (anything by Bertrand Russell or Alain de Botton or the Greek fellas).

Music, Movies & Books

I am a big reader, I love socially-conscious writers like Steinbeck, Capote and my firm favourite at the moment is Mr Cormac McCarthy, and especially The Border Trilogy.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Surfing in darkness as the dawn rose in the Cayman Islands.

Watching an electrical storm out at sea, in pitch darkness, as the whole sky lit up with columns of flashing lightning bolts shooting thousands of feets down onto the ocean.

Cycling down a mountain road at midnight in Hangzhou in China with my couch-surfing host, and then going for celebratory beers in a nightclub after.

Teach, Learn, Share

Je suis ici pour améliorer ma français, et j'ai donné les cours d'anglais - j'aimerais à donner les cours d'anglais à couch surfers, si tu veux!

I'm here to make my French better, and I have given English lessons in the past - I'd be happy to give English lessons to any couch-surfers I meet!

What I Can Share With Hosts

Cool vibes, man!

Countries I've Visited

Brazil, Cayman Islands, China, Cuba, Estonia, France, Latvia, Malaysia, Russian Federation, Spain, Thailand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, France, Malaysia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile