Logo orange

PEEL

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see PEEL's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 74 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Spanish; learning Indonesian, Malay, Sign Language - American, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 39, Other
  • Member since 2007
  • Parents plus other stuff
  • Eclectic & ongoing
  • From Singapore & Melbourne
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Raising a kind, responsible, irascible and interesting person.

ABOUT ME

We are a family with a happy, easygoing child. We moved to Melbourne in Nov 2006 after 3 years in Mexico, and we are still here!I prefer to live somewhere rather than travel, you get to know the spirit of a place deeply. Thankfully we've been lucky enough to do just that. Still, the most rewarding way to travel is alone - you stretch your boundaries so well, and we're both long overdue for a solo trip. Our last solo trips were when Lynn was pregnant.

PHILOSOPHY

Lynn: I travel because I love to put myself in places were I’m anonymous. I like the mystery of listening to other people’s conversations and watching people. I like flirting with the locals and making new friends. I like reading a book at a cafe, and letting conversations wash over me because I don't understand a word. Most of all I like playing with little kids, especially my own.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Since 2008 I (Lynn) have been an ambassador for Melbourne, first as a city ambassador and since we had a family as family ambassador. I also volunteered on the Member Disputes and Safety Team (MDST) from 2010 to 2011.I am passionate about safety and responsible CSing, and I try to participate behind the scenes making Melbourne a better, safer place to surf.
I highly recommend you read these CouchSurfing tips, if you haven't already, and use your common sense (if you have any) while travelling, surfing, hosting and living life in general.
If you have a problem with another member, you can contact the Safety Team here (http://www.couchsurfing.org/contact).For help with writing References, see Reference Guidelines (http://www.couchsurfing.org/references) or try the IW Reference Writing Support Group.We also love to host, and meet other travellers and families.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CS has allowed us to meet some amazing, wonderful, like-minded people, and make lasting friendships. We've also had the pleasure of hosting some beautiful travellers, and meeting some excellent hosts too.

Interests

Lynn: Going off the beaten path. Reading lots and eating even more.

Peter: Science, travelling, hiking, cycling, kayaking and the outdoors in general.

Music, Movies & Books

Lynn:
Books - I read everything in sight. Voraciously. Try get me out of a bookstore!
Film - Arthouse+Animation. Directors I like: Almodovar, von Trier, G del Toro, A Cuaron, JP Jeunet, F Meirelles, Scorsese, Bryan Singer, Brad Bird, Peter Jackson, Kurosawa, Ang Lee, Wong Kar Wai anything by Studio Ghibli and Pixar.
Radio - ABC Classics, JJJ.
Music - Eclectic, with a huge classical, jazz, soul and folk bent. Random selection: Isserlis, YoYoMa, Rufus Wainwright, Bach, Bing Ji Ling, Monica Salmaso, U2. In spite of our impaired state as parents, we try not to listen to The Wiggles.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Lynn: Seen the sun rise at the Alhambra. Swam with whale sharks at Holbox Island, Mexico. Rode around Rome in a Vespa. Ate in Singapore. Married the man of my dreams and started a family.

Teach, Learn, Share

Anyone who can sew or craft is welcome to chat or surf with me, and we are always keen to have Mandarin or Spanish speakers so that Lynn keeps up her language skills and our child gets exposed to those languages.We also love travelling as a family and discussing the different ways to do that is always fun. Any family who needs a couch is welcome to write us a (nice) Couch Request!

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, China, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see PEEL's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile