Pieter van der Wal

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pieter’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Western Frisian; learning German, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Sports, Going out, Working as a cook at the moment and st...
  • International Hospitality Management
  • From Heerenveen
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me


Explore the world


First of all I am an easygoing person, which is very open minded and always open to new experiences. Therefore couch surfing can also be considered as a good way to meet local people, share travel experiences and learning about different cultures. I havenâ


Still in development. I don't have a clear religious view and would like to learn more.

My motto is "Don't worry just relax and enjoy life"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I would like to meet with couch surfers for a drink in Holland.


Surfed couches in


Malaysia, Kuala Terengganu, Andrew
Malaysia, Kuantan, Nuri Haron
Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur, Caine

Singapore, Gio Sabio
Singapore, Marco Garcia

Had a drink with:

Bali, Kuta, Caine

Singapore, Nevaeh Knight
Singapore, Marco Garcia

Shared host with:


Malaysia, Nuri Haron with David, Ale
Singapore, Gio Sabio with Chayos, Issa, Angelique, Camille, David, Hendrik


Too many to mention so lets meet up and share.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like almost all types of music however my preference goes out to reggae, pop, house and R&B. At the moment I listen a lot to music such as Pete Murray, Paolo Nutini, Jason Mraz and Jack Johnson.

Furthermore I like to go fishing, which I haven’t done for quite a while, watching movies and just started reading books, mostly travel books explaining various experiences of travelers. Although it’s quite late to start reading books at the age of 25 but I always say it’s better late then never. Furthermore I like cooking as mentioned before, rock climbing, surfing, snowboarding, partying and I just started to become really interested in diving. A few months ago I finished my open watercourse in Thailand and can’t stop diving at the moment.

I am an active sports person and many sports to try out. I have played tennis, beach volleyball, beach tennis, Thai Kickboxing and swimming just occasionally however I have played field soccer for about 18 years and at the moment I play in two futsal teams, one regional and one student’s team. Have done this now for about three years.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Water sports camp in The Netherlands, waterskiing, wake boarding etc.
- Snowboarding mostly off piste in France (Valfrejús)
- Diving in Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia
- Internship in the Caribbean (Function Cook) So I love cooking

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a soccer trainer degree. I have taught soccer to kids from the age of 5 till 19, which was a great experience.

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Belgium, France, Germany, Malaysia, Singapore, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Netherlands, South Africa, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Pieter’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups