Penri Jones's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Penri’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Welsh; learning Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • IT Application Developer
  • Computer Studies BSc
  • From Bangor, Wales, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a laid-back, single guy who's currently contracting in Birmingham to fund the next adventure that I'll embark on in early 2016. I enjoy travelling whilst experiencing new cultures, nature and people along the way. I spent a few months in 2013 volunteering at different locations around the world, and loved each experience, from planting fruit trees on an island off the Australian coast to helping orphans to read in Nepal. I'm coming to the realisation that those experiences are real life, not the bit inbetween when I'm in an office, so am trying to get to a place where I live more often than I exist!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet other people if any want to see Birmingham in the time I have left here, and then to experience other parts of the world through the eyes of a local once I set off again :)

Interests

In my spare time I read literary fiction, watch any decent films, TV dramas and documentaries and I enjoy playing and occasionally watching football. I drink good beer and eat too much at every occasion possible! I cook some of it, but not sure I'd call myself a good cook. I try! I'm currently on a weekly woodworking course so I can become a bit handier, also have an interest in ecological living, sustainable building. I recently completed a weekend course in building with rammed earth, so I'd love to get involved with such project in the future.

  • documentaries
  • cooking
  • beer
  • drinking
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • woodworking
  • soccer
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I tend to err towards more acoustic or indie music but like electronic music too. Stone Roses or the Super Furry Animals are probably my all time favourite, but currently love Father John Misty, John Grant and a bit of Teleman. In general I love anything decent though.

Favourite film might be Sideways or The Secret In Their Eyes (ask me again tomorrow and it might be different!).

Few favourite books I can think of right now:
Secret History by Donna Tart
What is The What by Dave Eggers
Disgrace by J.M. Coetzee

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Left a good job after 8 years with a company to travel the world, volunteering and experiencing real life.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you Welsh as it's my first language. I can try and teach visitors about Birmingham as I live here, but I'd be making it up as I'm a visitor myself, so it would be a joint discovery! I'd share my home and maybe a balti curry which was derived in Birmingham

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'd share stories of my travels, my less than perfect cooking skills, views of the world, conversation, any other skills that I may possess and they need, a beer or two and hopefully good times!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bhutan, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Guatemala, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, United States, Uruguay, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, United States, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Penri’s full profile. It’s free!