Logo orange

Peter Huebner

Kaikohe, Northland, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 61, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • taken early retirement
  • education/psychology -- I also know ...
  • From Hamburg, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life now that I'm mostly done with the 'grown up' stuff.

ABOUT ME

First up, we are NOT in Kaikohe, we're 75km west of there -- Kaikohe's just where our post office is, and that's the location couchsurfing's software was happy with. So don't let that throw you off the scent. Look for Opononi on a map, then go south about 15 km.

That said:
There's two of us living in this house. We love meeting new people, particularly if they have an interest in playing boardgames or cards. We are looking after a couple of senile parents, but that apart we can both make time to talk and show folk around most days.

I retired at 58, because my knees are shot. So hiking or walking is not really something I am good for.

PHILOSOPHY

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.==
We're here only once - don't piss your life against the wall; have some fun.==
Committees keep minutes and waste hours. ==
Getting the job done is more important than fluffing around and/or saving face.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Looking forward to a trip to Australia in April '13, and hoping to do some couch surfing there, meet some new people and see the country from the inside perspective.

Happy to host when we're around and we don't have the house full.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We've been host members of WWoOF, Farm Helpers in New Zealand, HelpX, and Servas for years, hosting - going back to the 1980s. My guest book is full, we're starting a new one. Couchsurfing is a new organization for me/us.
We dropped both wwoof and servas because they were a bit too stuffy {winks}.

Interests

two of us: boardgames, cards, cooking, eating and drinking
she: felting, weaving, spinning, knitting, chainsawing
he: cooking, photography, computers (building and fixing), fine woodwork, education, philosophy and psychology

Music, Movies & Books

lots and lots

One Amazing Thing I've Done

One thing? You must be kidding. I'm 59 y.o. ferchrissakes.

Teach, Learn, Share

I won't be able to teach you German in a few days. Suze may be able to give you some fundamentals in woolcraft.
Otherwise, see our interests: we both like teaching and learning.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile