Peter Idoko's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • Associate Manager
  • Mechanical Engineering. Technology Management.
  • From Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I am new to CS and using this article (https://francistapon.com/Travels/Advice/How-to-be-a-Good-Couchsurfing-Guest-and-Host) as my guide to being a good guest and host.

I love meeting new people, sharing stories and learning about new cultures.

I was born in Nigeria, I left when I was 13 to Muscat where I lived for 5 years completing my high school at ABA - an IB World School. I then attended Concordia University in Montreal and lived in Montreal for 3.5 years before moving to Edmonton. In Edmonton, I attended NAIT and after graduating I moved to the Yukon where I currently live.

I love to travel and have been to Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, China, the USA, Jordan, UAE, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman, Benin Republic, Ghana, Ivory Coast, and Togo. As a Canadian citizen, I have mostly explored Canada this past few years, but either Europe or South America is next on my places to visit once the pandemic is under control.

I love to workout, cook, dance, sing, and play basketball. I also love to volunteer as a firefighter, CVITP and IT support at Mayo. While I volunteer online as a mentor at BlackMINT.io to support young BIPOC kids who are interested in the tech industry. I do not smoke but I drink socially.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am on Couchsurfing to meet new friends who can teach me cool things about their home cities. Two of my friends- Roman and Gabbie informed me of Couchsurfing and the positive experiences they have using this platform, so I signed up.

Interests

  • animals
  • books
  • cooking
  • walking
  • politics
  • investing
  • electronic music
  • basketball
  • soccer
  • business
  • economics
  • entrepreneurship
  • travel
  • art
  • nature
  • football
  • dance
  • jogging
  • gym
  • learning
  • comedy
  • programming
  • workout
  • real estate
  • cybersecurity
  • self-improvement
  • social issues
  • budget traveling
  • hip hop music
  • afrobeats

Music, Movies, and Books

I currently love St. James Infirmary (Gambler's Blues) by Louis Armstrong.
I love Quentin Tarantino movies.
My favourite book is currently Shoe Dog by Phil Knight. I also enjoyed Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates, and Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction by Kieran Healy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Set up a foundation with my siblings and parents in my village in Nigeria to pay the school fees for the top three kids in every grade plus post-secondary too. For post-secondary we make sure to include both the university and polytechnic students.

Leave the city life for a remote village called Mayo in the Yukon which all my friends and family thought was crazy. Since moving here I have learned new skills like fishing, hunting, and traditional art.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to work out properly, play basketball, budget, fix a home network issue and secure your home network and computer.

I wish to learn how to speak French, Spanish and any other thing my host is interested in teaching me.

What I Can Share with Hosts

New music as I have a wide taste and I am constantly searching for new artists. I can share my knowledge about English, Network and Computer Management, Cybersecurity, Dancing, Politics, Cooking and my experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Benin, China, Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Jordan, Kuwait, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Singapore, Thailand, Togo, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Nigeria, Oman

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.