Peter Lawson's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Spanish, Turkish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Music teacher in an international school
  • Bmus, RNCM, (music performance defree: cello). PGCE music...
  • From Leeds, England.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To make people smile and think. To look on the bright side, learn from my mistakes and be honest. Oh, and to have a bloody good time.

ABOUT ME

Creative, a good sense of humour, or so I'm told, optimistic, easygoing, sensitive and empathetic. Am sometimes stubborn but always the peacekeeper. Prone to forget things, except languages, which I love. Am at my best when out in the open air; cycling, running, hiking and swimming (although this one usually covered). I also like to jump off things. And I love to do silly dad dancing.

PHILOSOPHY

Tell it like it is and love those around you. Don't try with those who don't deserve it. Exercise clears the head, and a good beer in the sun with friends has no rival.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

People get in touch, I let them stay. O kadar.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Great idea. Have had really good experiences so far, and am looking forward to lots more.

Interests

Music- watching it, making it, listening to it and teaching it. Languages: Japanese, Spanish, Turkish. I spend my time wandering around Istanbul at the moment, talking to various people on the street, in bars and restaurants, trying to get under the surface of this crazy capital city.

  • singing
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • beer
  • exercise
  • running
  • partying
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • violin
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music- Iron and Wine, Helios, Aphex Twin, Gorgon Bordello, Gorillaz, Radiohead, The Police, Gotan Project, Bebe, Johnny Cash, Kate Bush, The Kinks, Aoki Takamas & Tujiko Noriko, Leanord Cohen, Nigel Kennedy, Yo Yo Ma, Philip Glass, Crowded House, The Beatles, Beethoven, Holst, Mogwai, Franz Ferdinand, Happy End, Yamasuki, The Decemberists, Elbow.......
Willy Wonka and the chocolate factory, the Gene Wilder one. It is an absolute classic. Waking Ned Divine. Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels. Shogun Assassin.
Books- Jonathan Livingston Seagull. The Unbearable Lightness of Being. Shantaram. Illusions: The adventures of a reluctant Messiah. The curious incident of the dog in the night time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1. Cycling across the northern island of Hokkaido in Japan, from Sapporo to Wakkanai, then taking the ferry over to the beautiful island of Rishiri-Zan and cycling around that- I have never sen such greenery.
2. Skinny dipping in rather cold water with a naturist in a cove off Kinkasan Island.
3. Attending the 'Botellon de la Basura' in Granada. An insane piss up on a rubbish dump. The stink was incredible, but what a party!
4. Surfing in Taito, Chiba, as the sun goes down. Beautiful.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like meeting people who are easygoing, who have been there, done that, but don't brag about it. I like to play music, with amateurs, professionals, children and adults. The beauty of music is that it's open to all. Play the spoon on a can, it all works. Let's have a jam; I have a cello, a guitar, a violin and a uke, which do you fancy? And I love singing, but don't get the chance to sing with others, which is a real shame. Teach me a song from your country, and I'll teach it to the kids. Oh, and I can teach you Japanese if you want. And if you've wondered what playing a cello feels like, I may let you have a go- under strict supervision, of course ; )

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, Czech Republic, France, Greece, India, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Czech Republic, Japan, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile. It’s free!