Davide Vadala''s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Davide’s full profile.

Overview

  • 199 references 148 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Romanian, Spanish; learning German, Indonesian
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Traveler, writer, artist, photographer, utopist, architect
  • Degree in Construction Engineering and Architecture + Msc...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

After the intimidatory and unethical way it was asked for a mandatory payment request from CS, I stopped using it. You can still find me in the alternative free networks for cyclist, hitchhikers and CS refugees (WS, TR, BW) or facebook as NomadTravellers or Phidias81 if you want to contact me

Just moved to Manacor where I'll spend the next 4-6 months attending a Ceramic program. I don't have any social link yet, so anybody that would like to connect, traveler or local, is very welcome!
I rent a room in the countryside 5km away from Manacor and I live with the owner, so it would be difficult to host you, but in case of emergency you can still try, I'm happy to help if I can.

CURRENT MISSION

Learning and experiencing life while reaching harmony

ABOUT ME

I'm a pretty relaxed guy, more of a tea person than a party animal, spending most of my time travelling and learning as much as I can about life. I'm a long time vegetarian and I only move by bicycle.

Starting from the end of 2009 I've never had a stable and conventional job and life anymore: for 7 years I traveled hitchhiking with my ex-girlfriend, volunteering in interesting projects, meeting inspiring people, visiting amazing places, and having new enriching experiences every day.
Since 2018 I'm back on my own, and I started experiencing life from the saddle of my travel bicycle.
I'm into intentional communties and ecovillages, and I lived in several of them, the biggest two, being Arcosanti (Usa) and Sadhana Forest - Auroville (India) trying to live in frugality avoiding consumerism.

I love making handicrafts, in particular ceramic, pottery and wood carving and I have an academic background in Architecture, passion for Natural buildings and travel-landscape photography.

I love being outdoor, hiking, climbing and cycling and nature is my greatest source of inspiration.

I attend Rainbow gatherings form time to time, so Rainbow brothers and sisters are welcome to connect!

I run what used to be a quite popular travel blog, where you can find more info about me and my travels, but lately is not too much up to date http://www.nomadtravellers.com/

UPDATE MAY 2018: After travelling hitchhiking for 7 years with my better half, we decided to separate our lives for some time, or indefinitely who knows, so while many references might refer to us as a couple, I'm a single human being.

Update 2014: After almost a decade of happy usage of CS, I had to leave my first 2 bad references to mum and daughter (and unfortunately to receive in return as a revenge). So please, if you are planning to lose control of yourself after getting drunk or using drugs, you are totally free to do it, but please don't host me, I prefer to sleep on the road rather than dealing with unpleasant situations.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Mainly surfing, since I'm always travelling around, but whenever I stop for longer time somewhere and I have the possibility to host, I'm happy to exchange the favour and to receive happy guests.

Interests

Travel, Sustainability, Art and Architecture, Ceramics, Photography, Sports, Meditation, Reading, Music, Alternative lifestyle and ways of living, Nature, Trekking

  • arts
  • architecture
  • photography
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • ecology
  • hitchhiking
  • nature
  • sustainability
  • silence
  • sculpture
  • ceramics
  • ecovillages
  • handicrafts

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't enjoy watching movies, I feel like I'm wasting time doing nothing, I rather prefer documentaries.
I enjoy reading a lot, despite often I don't have time while travelling. My favourite authors are Tiziano Terzani, and Herman Hesse, lately I'm into Non Violent Communication and Personal Development.
I listen to a little bit of all kind of music, but i definitely prefer rock-ska-gipsy-folk-world music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Hiking in Nepali Himalaya, 3 weeks trekking, 300 km long with a max altitude of 5500 m
-Living in Arcosanti, Arizona Desert and watching the clearest sky ever at night
-Hitchhiking from Rome to North Cape and back, over 10000 km
- Scuba diving in Cuba
- Receiving as a gift some mangoes from one of the poorest man we met, while we were stuck hitchiking without food and water. He gave us everything he had without even thinking about it.
- Attending Kumbh Mela in Haridwar - India, the biggest meeting in the world, with millions of people
- Seeing some very strong Northern lights in the perfect night
- Sleeping in the jungle in Malaysia
- Living like a local for 1 full year in Indonesia
- Hiking many volcanoes in Indonesia

Teach, Learn, Share

Sharing is the direction to be taken: sharing experiences, sharing knowledge, sharing structures. Without sharing there is no human progress. That's why I look forward to settle in an intentional community.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Italy, Romania, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    23 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Davide’s full profile.

My Groups