Amy James's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 8 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Student
  • University
  • From Cardiff, Wales
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To fill my passport before it expires.. :)

ABOUT ME

Hi i'm Amy.. I'm originally from Cardiff, currently studying history at the University of Southampton in England. Here are few things about me:

I love to travel! (obviously) and want to visit as many countries as I possibly can (am currently on about 20) I like to visit countries that are as different as possible to the UK and try to learn as much as I can about other cultures. The best travel experinces I've had have been staying with local people as you get to see things most tourists don't. I don't want to be a stereotypical 'tourist'

I love being a student but when I do eventually have to find a real job I would like to be a writer/journalist and my dream job would be to work for lonely planet

I'm generally a happy friendly, lively person although sometimes I can be lazy and like to sleep all day

When I'm bored I like to bake :)

I'd like to spend a year living/working in New York, although I don't think I would stay permenantly

I like to do things on impulse and don't like to have everything laid out

I'm very independant and can come off as a fairly quiet person initially, but only until you get to know me! ;)

I'm usually cold so I like hot places and sunshine! (although unfortunately we don't see it very often in England :( this week being an exception!)

I like to study languages and hope to become fluent in at least 2 other languages eventually

I don't smoke but I don't have a problem with other peope smoking. But I don't like drugs..

PHILOSOPHY

I don't think I really have one yet.. am working on it!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would be happy to show you around Southampton when I get back in october :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None yet but hoping to change that this summer!

Interests

meeting new people and making new friends
dancing all night
staying up late for no reason
I go the gym a lot!
I intend to learn to ride properly

  • writing
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • history
  • journalism
  • languages
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies

Am open to anything! But i'm not a fan of scary/horror movies.. if i'm made to watch them I generally watch them with my eyes closed!
Some of my favourites are; the holiday, keeping mum, blood diamond, mamma mia, slumdog millionaire, twilight, pirates of the carribean, bond movies, the interpreter, vicky christina barcelona, blame it on rio, anything with Johnny Depp :)

Since starting uni I have also watched almost every episode of sex in the city! :)an excellent means of procrastination! Also getting into chuck and firefly courtesy of my flatmate!

Books

I'm a bit of a bookworm.. will read anything I can get my hands on!

Music

Changes a lot! Am easily influenced so feel free to introduce me to your music collection!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Umm.. volunteering in a kindergarden in Ghana would be the most challenging and by far the most rewarding..
Also swimming with dolphins in Hawaii, paragliding in France, hiking fox glacier in New Zealand, Helicopter flight over the grand canyon.. have too many to list!

Teach, Learn, Share

I have experience teaching english so would be more than happy to help you improve your english, also would like to improve my french and italian so would love to meet people who could help me with this.. oh and I would also like to learn salsa dancing

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, France, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, New Zealand, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ghana, Italy, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy’s full profile. It’s free!