Margarita K.'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Margarita’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Italian, Spanish; learning Arabic
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • German Teacher
  • Linguistics, Anthropology
  • From the smallest village ever, Upper Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hola, my friends!
I moved to Vienna shortly before Corona, so I am still quite new to the city :-)

I grew up in a big family in the countryside of Austria, finished art school in Linz, studied Linguistics and Social and Cultural Anthropology in Berlin. Then I went to Mexico for 2 years where I built up and managed a branch office and worked as a German teacher. Now I live in Vienna and study again to learn more and grow (Masters in German as a foreign language). Next year I'll go to India for a few months to teach there.
Besides, I have been organizing concerts and festivals for the last 10 years, so music is a big passion of mine and I enjoy going to (small) concerts a lot and love to see new stuff :-)

Some suggestions for Vienna: At the metro stop Spittelau (U6/U4) you can see one of my favourite buildings in Vienna, made by Friedensreich Hundertwasser. In summer you can sit at the Donaukanal (get off at U Schwedenplatz or U Schottenring) and you can find a lot of bars on the Gürtel ("the belt", just get off at U6 Josefstädter Straße or Thaliastraße).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been on CS for over 10 years now. I love it because of the same reasons everybody does. You can't miss out the most important part of a place: the people who live in it!
The trips I did with couchsurfing were the ones I enjoyed most. Do I have to say more?

We used to host people in Berlin (not with my account, though). In Vienna I have 2 flatmates and our flat is not really big. But we try to host when we can to give back to the gorgeous CS community what I have been receiving from so many amazing people around the globe!

Interests

languages and society, (interior) design, crazy earrings, cooking and eating (vegetarian), pub quiz, kindness, nice talks, concerts, plants, learning something new and filling my head with awesome memories and (preferably useless) knowledge ...

  • arts
  • design
  • photography
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • wine
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • reading
  • music
  • anthropology
  • history
  • languages
  • linguistics
  • people
  • social justice
  • kids
  • people's stories
  • random stuff
  • donkeys
  • grammar
  • the colour of recently cooked spinach
  • the word guelaguetza

Music, Movies, and Books

a lot:
recently mainly Latin music, reggae, jungle, cumbia, dancehall, Arabic music, fusion, Balkan beats music, folk, (electro) swing, soul, funk, dub, blues, tango, techno, drum'n'bass, goa...
What I listen to at home, for example: Cosmo radio station, The Spy from Cairo, Dub Inc, Bomba Estéreo, Manu Chao, Dunkelbunt, Dub FX, Macaco, Gentleman, Norah Jones, Rodriguez, Mannarino, Capotango, Harry Belafonte, Simon and Garfunkel,...

some random quotations:
"Friends are like potatoes - if you eat them, they die."
"The problem with quotations from the internet is that you never know whether they are true or not." (William Shakespeare)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

only one? a lot! here's some random stuff:
-wed a couple in Spanish (obviously without being a priest)
-In Colombia somebody at a bus stop invited me over to their mountain to spend my birthday there.
- played an insane in a music video
- won a prize in a video contest without even participating
I can tell you a lot more stories in person ;-)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you German. or how to cook Knödel

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my crazy mind and laughs, a lot of laughs. I can also cook for you!
And of course I invite you back and you can stay at my place in Vienna!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, Italy, Mexico

Join Couchsurfing to see Margarita’s full profile.

My Groups