Logo orange

Patrick Sheil

Buffalo, NY, United States

Accepting Guests

15% response rate · Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • I work full-time for a software comp...
  • B.A. in Music
  • From Long Island, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Can't wait to see more of the world, and meet new interesting people!

ABOUT ME

I live in Buffalo, NY with my cat, LuLu (she is the beauty in my photos). I just recently bought a home that I am always busy doing renovations on.

I have been an avid traveler since I can remember. I have two family members that work for airlines and I have enjoyed flight benefits for most of my life.

I have a degree in Music, but while I was finishing it, I realized that I prefer performing music as a pleasurable pastime than as a career. I still work from time to time as a professional musician, but I don't pursue gigs actively since my day job(s) keep me busy enough!

PHILOSOPHY

Travel light in life.
Take only what you need:
a loving family,
good friends,
simple pleasures,
someone to love,
and someone to love you;
something to eat,
enough to wear,
and a little more than enough to drink...
for thirst is a dangerous thing!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've never participated in CouchSurfing, but I have been a member of the site for a long time. I finally decided to buckle-down and get my profile up to par so that hopefully I can start becoming more active and getting some feedback! I am hoping to start out by hosting people passing through my home town of Buffalo.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Though I've never Couch Surfed through this site, I've traveled with some music groups over the past years and stayed with host families around the US and in foreign countries. I always preferred this type of travel to staying in hotels, because I was able to form lasting relationships with the locals I met, have my new friends show me around, and fully enjoy the local perspective of my destination.

Interests

In my spare time, I like to work on my house, sing in music groups, play piano, work on programming projects, hanging out with friends as often as possible, and (of course) travel.

Music, Movies & Books

I'm not a big movie/tv person, in fact some might say I'm a little pop-culture illiterate.

When it comes to music, my tastes are VERY varied. I have a plethora of different genres on my iPod, including classical, pop (mostly 90's, duh), classic rock, disco, rap, dance, holiday, choral...

As far as books are concerned, I have a soft spot for easy reads... I love to sit down and be absolutely enthralled with a story to the point that I can't put it down. My most recent favorites that come to mind are the Hunger Games trilogy and The Help.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef in Australia and sailing through the Norwegian Fjords are definitely at the top my list.

Teach, Learn, Share

I think I'm pretty talented with interior design; people always ask me for help, and I love to do it.

I am also very business-minded and I have a fair amount of experience managing in large corporations and startups alike. I love to dig into business ideas, concepts, and develop new products and strategies.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Canada, Cook Islands, Denmark, Finland, France, Italy, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Samoa, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile