Rose's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rose’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 178 References 117 Confirmed & Positive
  • No languages listed
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Traveler
  • Taught by the world.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

SUMMARY:

I'm Rose: slow-traveler, minimalistic used to be tiny house builder and dweller, collector of hobbies, learner of new skills and student of perfecting old ones. I am a mother of a four year old boy who has been traveling around the world with me since he was 6 weeks old. I now have another child, a new daughter! Who was born in the summer of 2016. WE ARE CURRENTLY TRAVELING. Ah yes, we sold everything we owned (again) and hit the road (again).

CURRENT MISSION:

To open my heart to everyone and everything... Also, to teach my children everything I know and to learn with them the rest.

ABOUT ME:

I am in love with the smell of the earth, the touch of the sun, the taste of berries, the sight of humanity, the sound of the wind, and the feeling of being truly alive.

I've been traveling for a long time, it's in my blood to experience new things and keep learning. My soul is content and at peace but also very excitable. I am always learning new skills, so if you have something to teach, I really love to learn. There are so many things I want to do... and I'm so excited about ALL of them. It's like a brimming, can't breathe, scrunched face type of excited.

I am a single mother to my kids, Nico and Savi. He is 4.5 years old and enjoys being outside running around. He's a little bit of a monster, but mostly a very aware child. People always seem to remember him more than me- ha! We have been either hosting travelers or staying with hosts his entire life. He is quite used to the idea of strangers and new friends. My daughter is 1 year old and is a total water girl. She was born to the sound of waves, spent her first days on the ocean... first steps were at the beach and her first word is "water". She is always happy when she can see the sky.

PHILOSOPHY:

LIVE.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Everything that is mine is yours.

I have hosted, surfed, and traveled with others for over 10 years. Now that my son and daughter are here, I'd like him to grow up with the same openness and sharing CSing has allowed me to develop.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have visited over 70% of the couch surfers in their local cities that I have hosted in NYC, Indonesia, Florida, and every and any other place I've had the opportunity to call my own. That's what makes couchsurfing so beautiful... it's not just a cheap way to travel, it's about making lasting friendships between people that normally would never know each other.

Interests

I am interested in everything.

Photography
Creative Writing
Painting
Sewing
Singing
Architecture
Reading
~
Gymnastics
Figure skating
Acro Swing dancing
Baseball
Camping
Acro yoga
~
Programming
Web design
Photoshop
Video Editing
~
Car repair
Motorcycles
BICYCLES (maybe more than anything.)
~
Philosophy
Minimalism
Waldorf
Homeschool/ unschooling
Attachment Parenting
~
Decorating
Cleaning
Creating
Modifying
Imagining
Trading
Analyzing
Minimizing

…So, yes, really anything. Everything that interests you, will interest me. Guaranteed. Teach me something!

  • singing
  • architecture
  • photography
  • motorcycles
  • painting
  • minimalism
  • camping
  • baseball
  • gymnastics
  • philosophy
  • videography
  • sewing
  • programming
  • creating
  • bike touring
  • web design
  • video editing
  • bicycles
  • slow travel
  • imagining
  • acro yoga
  • creative writing
  • photoshop
  • montessori
  • trading
  • waldorf
  • attachment parenting
  • decorating
  • figure skating
  • homeschool
  • car repair
  • acro swing dancing
  • modifying
  • analysing
  • minimising

Music, Movies, and Books

Anything that brings me joy or encourages me think deeply.

Le Petit Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Siddhartha by Herman Hesse
Manalive by G. K. Chesterton

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've updated my profile since then... but this was what I said as a 19 year old on CS.

"Travelled to the opposite side of the world with people I met online.
Break danced with a homeless man without a word of verbal communication
Ran from Cambodian cops
Moved to a different state on 24 hour notice
Finger painted shirtless people at a black light party
Didn't have physical contact for the 1st week of my life
Helped birth a crocodile
Wore a school uniform for a whole year to a school that didn't have a uniform requirement
Been deathly wrong
Went to a highschool prom when I was in college
Changed my name over 20 times
Died my hair every color of the rainbow
Shaved my head
Showed up to surprise a friend in a foreign country without notice
Accidentally lived in a country illegally"

Teach, Learn, Share

Oh man! If you have a skill you can teach me while you are here, PLEASE do. I actually really want to learn whatever it is.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Greenland, Honduras, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Laos, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    9 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Rose’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups