Rachel Baird's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic (Gulf), Chinese (Simplified), Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • ESL teacher
  • Bachelor's in TESL, Master's in Teaching Biology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

**I’m currently traveling with my friend Maud! She’s the one in my profile picture with me!**

Hi! I am a friendly person who likes to meet new people. I live with my husband and our three cats. I used to be a bus driver, and I loved that I could always talk to people from all over. After I graduated, I spent the summer in Russia teaching English at a summer camp, followed by two years in China! Now I teach English as a second language in Ohio. I love to experience new cultures, and the best way to do that is by living with the locals instead of just being a tourist and spending every night in a hotel.

Some of my adventures on Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/anotherspeechlessstoryteller/
And
https://www.instagram.com/catladytravelstheworld/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love getting a local experience when I travel. Even though I do like seeing *some* tourist attractions, I think the best part about traveling is meeting local people and learning about how they live. It's hard to experience that if I'm staying in a hotel. I'd much rather sleep on a couch or blowup mattress and experience local life than to sleep on a comfy bed in a hotel and only see tourist spots. Also, I’ve met some of the coolest people I know because of the Couchsurfing community!

Interests

I love traveling (duh), reading books, hiking, kayaking, skiing, taking pictures, and learning new languages.

  • books
  • photography
  • dancing
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • bungee jumping
  • biology
  • teaching
  • languages
  • science
  • historic sites
  • instagram
  • science fiction
  • learning

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Right now my favorite singer is Alvaro Soler! I listen to pretty much anything, and I'm always up for music suggestions. I love discovering music in languages other than English!

Movies: Just like music, I like pretty much anything, but I love movies that make me think. I can usually guess what is going to happen, so bonus points to movies that I can’t guess!

Books: Dystopian and time travel novels are my favorite, as well as anything by Stephen King

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went bungee jumping in China!

I was a part of the group that broke the Guinness world record for the most people running in kilts 😂 (Cleveland, Ohio 2019)

Teach, Learn, Share

I am an ESL teacher, so I'm happy to help if someone wants to practice their English! I'm really patient, so don't be shy!

I would love to learn more Spanish and Arabic, and I love picking up phrases in the native languages of anyone I meet or any place I go! :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a really positive personality because I enjoy the little things in life. I make the most of everything I have, and I never take anything for granted. I also have a great cookie recipe thanks to my husband!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Kuwait, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Turkey, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Germany, Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.